FDG-Labeled PET Scan in Planning Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Stage IIIB or IV Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
FDG-PET Based Chemotherapy Selection for Metastatic Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
REGISTRY · CTRP (Clinical Trial Reporting Program)
interventional
55
1 country
2
Study Start
October 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
September 2011
Actual (reported)Study Completion
March 2012
Actual (reported)This phase II trial studies how well fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG)-labeled positron emission tomography (PET) scan works in planning chemotherapy in treating patients with stage IIIB or IV non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC). Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as paclitaxel, carboplatin, gemcitabine hydrochloride, and docetaxel, work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Diagnostic imaging procedures, such as FDG-labeled PET scan, may help in guiding chemotherapy and allow doctors to plan better treatment
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
March 2012
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
November 27, 2007
Actual (reported)November 28, 2007
Actual (reported)September 2011
Actual (reported)March 2012
Actual (reported)October 21, 2016
Actual (reported)Overall Response Rate (Patients That Achieve a CR or PR)
Assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria. Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.
At the end of 4 cycles of treatment, up to 24 weeks.
Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 3 hours and carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Patients undergo FDG PET/CT (fludeoxyglucose F 18 positron emission tomography/computed tomography) scan between days 18-21. The FDG PET/CT is an imaging biomarker analysis. Patients that are responding to treatment receive paclitaxel IV and carboplatin IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for up to 3 additional courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.Patients that are not responding to chemotherapy per FDG PET then receive gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 30 minutes on days 1 and 8 and docetaxel IV over 1 hour on day 8. Treatment repeats every 3 weeks for up to 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Non-responding patients undergo an additional FDG PET/CT scan between days 18-21 of course 2.
Given IV
Given IV
Harborview Medical Center
Seattle, Washington, 98104, United States
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/University of Washington Cancer Consortium
Seattle, Washington, 98109, United States
Keith Eaton
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center/University of Washington Cancer Consortium
55 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
November 27, 2007
First Posted
November 28, 2007
Study Start
October 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Given IV
Given IV
Undergo FDG PET/CT
Undergo FDG PET/CT
Given IV
Correlative studies
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
September 2011
Actual (reported)Study Completion
March 2012
Actual (reported)Last Updated
February 10, 2017
Results First Posted
October 21, 2016
Record last verified: 2016-12
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: