low accrual
A Phase II Trial of Concurrent Docetaxel (Taxotere) / Carboplatin / Radiotherapy Followed by Surgical Resection Followed by Consolidation Taxotere / Carboplatin in Stage III Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
OTHER · Stanford University Alternate IRB Approval Number
OTHER · Aventis
OTHER · Stanford IRB
interventional
13
1 country
1
Study Start
March 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
September 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
November 2014
Actual (reported)The purpose of this study is to assess how well this particular combination of chemotherapy, radiation and surgery works to help people with locally advanced lung cancer, how well PET scans indicates whether someone has responded to chemotherapy and radiation, and gene expression patterns related to outcomes in patients with locally advanced lung cancer who receive this treatment regimen.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
November 2014
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
March 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
October 11, 2005
Actual (reported)October 13, 2005
Actual (reported)September 2009
Actual (reported)July 4, 2013
Actual (reported)November 2014
Actual (reported)2 Year Overall Survival After a Combination of Chemotherapy, Radiation and Surgery in Stage III NSCLC Patients Following the Protocol Therapy.
Patients were analyzed for 2 year overall survival after receiving trimodality (chemotherapy/radiation/surgery) therapy for stage III NSCLC. Patients had a chest x-ray and a doctor visit with a physical examination every 3 months after completion of all therapy for 3 years then every 6 months for 3 years to look for evidence of recurrent disease and to follow survival. Thoracic computed tomography (CT) scans were obtained at 6, 12, 18 months after completion of all therapy and then yearly for 3 years or as clinically indicated to evaluate for relapse.
Two years
Change in Standard Uptake Value (SUVmax) on Positron Emission Tomography (PET) Scans Pre and Post Chemotherapy and Radiation in This Trial and Ability to Predict Surgical Resection Rate, Progression-free Survival and 2 Year Overall Survival
baseline, 5 weeks after combined chemo-radiation
Exploratory Analysis of Relation of Gene Expression Patterns to Outcomes in Patients With Locally Advanced Lung Cancer Who Receive This Treatment Regimen
Specimen collected at time of surgery
1. Concurrent weekly docetaxel at 20 mg/m2 and weekly carboplatin at an AUC of 2 with thoracic radiotherapy of 180-200cGy/day for 5/7 days to 45 Gy. 2. Complete surgical excision 3-6 weeks after completion of chemoradiotherapy. 3. No Surgery if patient is deemed unable to tolerate surgery, with completion to 61 Gy radiation 4. Consolidation after surgery: Docetaxel given at 75 mg/m2 every 3 weeks with carboplatin at AUC 6 every 3 weeks with concomitant growth factor support.
20 mg/m2, 75 mg/m2 infusion
AUC of 2 and 6 infusion
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, California, 94305, United States
Kozak MM, Murphy JD, Schipper ML, Donington JS, Zhou L, Whyte RI, Shrager JB, Hoang CD, Bazan J, Maxim PG, Graves EE, Diehn M, Hara WY, Quon A, Le QT, Wakelee HA, Loo BW Jr. Tumor volume as a potential imaging-based risk-stratification factor in trimodality therapy for locally advanced non-small cell lung cancer. J Thorac Oncol. 2011 May;6(5):920-6. doi: 10.1097/jto.0b013e31821517db.
Das M, Donington JS, Murphy J, Kozak M, Eclov N, Whyte RI, Hoang CD, Zhou L, Le QT, Loo BW, Wakelee H. Results from a single institution phase II trial of concurrent docetaxel/carboplatin/radiotherapy followed by surgical resection and consolidation docetaxel/carboplatin in stage III non-small-cell lung cancer. Clin Lung Cancer. 2011 Sep;12(5):280-5. doi: 10.1016/j.cllc.2011.06.003. Epub 2011 Jul 14.
Accrual was very slow. The study was halted with accrual of only 13 patients. These results were published.
Heather A. Wakelee
Stanford University
13 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
October 11, 2005
First Posted
October 13, 2005
Study Start
March 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
NEOADJUVANT RADIOTHERAPY Radiation therapy will be concurrent with the chemotherapy. Radiation therapy will begin within 24 hours of chemotherapy. CONSOLIDATION RADIOTHERAPY Patients with positive surgical margins or incomplete resection (tumor shaved from spine or great vessels) will receive an additional boost of radiotherapy 3 to 6 weeks after surgery. This will be a 16 Gy boost given with concurrent weekly chemotherapy as during the neoadjuvant period.
All patients will be taken to surgical excision, unless they have developed a condition other than progressive disease, which would make surgery unsafe.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
September 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
November 2014
Actual (reported)Last Updated
May 12, 2015
Results First Posted
July 4, 2013
Record last verified: 2015-04
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: