Residual Block in Postoperative Anaesthetic Care Unit
Assessment of Residual Paralysis in Patients in the Postoperative Anaesthetic Care Unit (PACU)
Assessment of Residual Paralysis in Patients in the Postoperative Anaesthetic Care Unit (PACU)
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
REGISTRY · SingHealth Centralised Institutional Review Board
observational
400
1 country
1
Study Start
October 2016
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 18, 2017
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
August 18, 2017
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
The purpose of this study is to assess the incidence of residual block in patients arriving in the Post Anaesthetic Care Unit (PACU) following surgery, and in those who have received neuromuscular blocking drugs (muscle relaxants). Residual block (decreased motor function) due to residual levels of muscle relaxants is associated with increased morbidity.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
August 18, 2017
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 2016
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
October 10, 2016
Actual (reported)October 12, 2016
Actual (reported)August 18, 2017
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
August 18, 2017
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Evidence of residual block (train of four <0.9) after receiving neuromuscular block for anaesthesia for surgery
Train of four is measured at the adductor pollicis using TOF Watch acceleromyography
Within one hour of surgery
For patients, on arriving in PACU after having had muscle relaxants during general anaesthesia * Two ECG electrodes will be placed 4 cm apart over the path of the ulnar nerve of the wrist after cleaning the skin with alcohol swabs. * The TOF force transducer will be placed on the volar aspect of the thumb. * The TOF Watch leads will be attached to the ECG electrodes. * A TOF stimulus will be applied: four twitches at 2Hz (every 0.5 seconds), each twitch lasting 0.2ms, and at a current of 50 mA. As far as possible, this will be done when patients are still slightly drowsy from the effects of anaesthesia. * Two TOF ratio will be elicited (two sets of four twitches 15 seconds apart), and an average of the two taken
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
All patients 21 years old or older, who receive neuromuscular blocking drugs (muscle relaxants) as part of their anaesthesia for surgery, and who arrive in the postoperative anaesthesia care unit.
Singapore General Hospital
Singapore, 169608, Singapore
Plaud B, Debaene B, Donati F, Marty J. Residual paralysis after emergence from anesthesia. Anesthesiology. 2010 Apr;112(4):1013-22. doi: 10.1097/ALN.0b013e3181cded07. No abstract available.
Brull SJ, Prielipp RC. Reversal of neuromuscular blockade: "identification friend or foe". Anesthesiology. 2015 Jun;122(6):1183-5. doi: 10.1097/ALN.0000000000000675. No abstract available.
Patrick Wong, MBBS FRCA
Singapore General Hospital
First Submitted
October 10, 2016
First Posted
October 12, 2016
Study Start
October 2016
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 18, 2017
Estimated (date passed)Can Adequacy of Anesthesia Depth and Quality of Recovery be Influenced by the Level of Neuromuscular Blockade?
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
August 18, 2017
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Last Updated
May 1, 2017
Record last verified: 2017-04
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: