High-Dose Intravenous (IV) Cyclophosphamide Versus Monthly IV Cyclophosphamide
Randomized Trial of High-Dose IV Cyclophosphamide Versus Monthly IV Cyclophosphamide
Randomized Trial of High-Dose IV Cyclophosphamide Versus Monthly IV Cyclophosphamide
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
interventional
100
1 country
3
Study Start
January 2000
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
April 2006
Actual (reported)Study Completion
April 2006
Actual (reported)This study compares the effectiveness of high-dose cyclophosphamide treatment with the "gold standard" treatment, monthly intravenous (IV) cyclophosphamide, in people with moderate to severe lupus that does not respond to high-dose corticosteroid therapy. We will give patients either IV cyclophosphamide (750 milligrams per square meter of body surface area) monthly for 6 months, followed by quarterly maintenance therapy, or high-dose IV cyclophosphamide (50 milligrams per kilogram body weight per day) for the first four days of the study. Patients will be followed for 24 months after therapy.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
April 2006
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
January 2000
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
June 3, 2000
Actual (reported)June 5, 2000
Actual (reported)April 2006
Actual (reported)April 2006
Actual (reported)RIFLE
2.5 years
1. High dose cyclophosphamide for 4 days. 2. NIH monthly IV cytoxan for 6 months followed by quarterly for 2 years.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Johns Hopkins University Division of Rheumatology
Baltimore, Maryland, 21205, United States
Drexel University School of Medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19102, United States
Medical College of Wisconsin, Division of Rheumatology
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, 53226, United States
Brodsky RA, Petri M, Smith BD, Seifter EJ, Spivak JL, Styler M, Dang CV, Brodsky I, Jones RJ. Immunoablative high-dose cyclophosphamide without stem-cell rescue for refractory, severe autoimmune disease. Ann Intern Med. 1998 Dec 15;129(12):1031-5. doi: 10.7326/0003-4819-129-12-199812150-00007.
Brodsky RA, Sensenbrenner LL, Jones RJ. Complete remission in severe aplastic anemia after high-dose cyclophosphamide without bone marrow transplantation. Blood. 1996 Jan 15;87(2):491-4.
Michelle Petri, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins University
First Submitted
June 3, 2000
First Posted
June 5, 2000
Study Start
January 2000
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
April 2006
Actual (reported)A Study to Evaluate the Safety of Rituximab Retreatment in Subjects With Systemic Lupus Erythematosus
Contact the study team to discuss eligibility requirements. They can help determine if this study is right for you.
Brodsky RA, Smith BD. Bone marrow transplantation for autoimmune diseases. Curr Opin Oncol. 1999 Mar;11(2):83-6. doi: 10.1097/00001622-199903000-00002.
Levite M, Zinger H, Zisman E, Reisner Y, Mozes E. Beneficial effects of bone marrow transplantation on the serological manifestations and kidney pathology of experimental systemic lupus erythematosus. Cell Immunol. 1995 Apr 15;162(1):138-45. doi: 10.1006/cimm.1995.1061.
Petri M, Jones RJ, Brodsky RA. High-dose cyclophosphamide without stem cell transplantation in systemic lupus erythematosus. Arthritis Rheum. 2003 Jan;48(1):166-73. doi: 10.1002/art.10752.
Petri M. Cyclophosphamide: new approaches for systemic lupus erythematosus. Lupus. 2004;13(5):366-71. doi: 10.1191/0961203303lu1028oa.
Study Completion
April 2006
Actual (reported)Last Updated
November 6, 2008
Record last verified: 2008-11
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: