Prevention of Post-TIPS Hepatic Encephalopathy by Administration of Rifaximin and Lactulose
PEARL
Prevention of Hepatic Encephalopathy by Administration of Rifaximin and Lactulose in Patients With Liver Cirrhosis Undergoing TIPS Placement: a Multi-centre Randomized, Double Blind, Placebo Controlled Trial.
Academisch Medisch Centrum - Universiteit van Amsterdam (AMC-UvA)
This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
December 31, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Brief Summary
Rationale: Hepatic encephalopathy (HE) is a major and common complication in patients with liver cirrhosis. HE can be classified in the extensive range of neurocognitive deterioration as minimal HE (MHE), covert HE (grade I), or overt HE (OHE, grade II-IV). Liver cirrhosis is the most common cause of portal hypertension (PH). Patients who develop complications of PH, like variceal bleeding or refractory ascites, can benefit from a Transjugular Intrahepatic Portosystemic Shunt (TIPS) placement. Unfortunately, post-TIPS HE is a common and often severe complication. Incidence of new onset or worsening of HE after TIPS is approximately 20-45%. Currently there is no strategy to prevent post-TIPS HE.
Registry Overview
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
Recruitment status
recruiting
Estimated enrollment
238 participants
Study completion date
December 31, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Listed locations
2 countries · 6 sites
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Related Scientific Literature
Loading related publications...
Study Timeline
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
First Submitted
August 27, 2019
Actual (reported)
First Posted
August 29, 2019
Actual (reported)
Study Start
January 21, 2020
Actual (reported)
Primary Completion
September 30, 2026
Estimated (date passed)
This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
December 31, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Zacharias HD, Kamel F, Tan J, Kimer N, Gluud LL, Morgan MY. Rifaximin for prevention and treatment of hepatic encephalopathy in people with cirrhosis. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2023 Jul 19;7(7):CD011585. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD011585.pub2.
de Wit K, Schaapman JJ, Nevens F, Verbeek J, Coenen S, Cuperus FJC, Kramer M, Tjwa ETTL, Mostafavi N, Dijkgraaf MGW, van Delden OM, Beuers UHW, Coenraad MJ, Takkenberg RB. Prevention of hepatic encephalopathy by administration of rifaximin and lactulose in patients with liver cirrhosis undergoing placement of a transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunt (TIPS): a multicentre randomised, double blind, placebo controlled trial (PEARL trial). BMJ Open Gastroenterol. 2020 Dec;7(1):e000531. doi: 10.1136/bmjgast-2020-000531.
Liver FailureHepatic InsufficiencyDigestive System DiseasesBrain Diseases, MetabolicBrain DiseasesCentral Nervous System DiseasesNervous System DiseasesMetabolic Diseases
Study Officials
Bart Takkenberg, MD, PhD
Academisch Medisch Centrum - Universiteit van Amsterdam (AMC-UvA)
Lactulose based on soft stool frequency, 72 hours before TIPS placement till 3 months post-TIPS
Also known as: Lactulose syrup
Placebo and lactuloseRifaximin and lactulose
RIFAXIMIN ALFASIGMA 550 mg film-coated tabletsType not reported
Lactulose EG 670 mg/ml, siropType not reported
Placebo for rifaximinType not reported
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
i. Not responding to the maximal dose of diuretics (400 milligram spironolactone and 160 milligram furosemide).
ii. Kidney insufficiency (Creatinine \> 135 umol/L) induced by diuretics. iii. Electrolyte disturbances (Sodium \< 125 mmol/L, Potassium \> 5.5 mmol/L) induced by diuretics.
iv. Not tolerating higher dose of diuretics (e.g. because of subjective side effects like muscle cramps).
Recurrent variceal bleeding, not responsive to treatment with endoscopic band ligation and beta-blockers, with a high risk of failure of endoscopic treatment:
i. Patients with a variceal bleeding and Child-Pugh C (10-13 points) cirrhosis or ii. Patients with a variceal bleeding, Child-Pugh B and an active bleeding during endoscopy
Age ≥18 years
Confirmed liver cirrhosis as documented by liver biopsy, elastography (e.g. Fibroscan) or combination of usual radiological and biochemical criteria.
Signed informed consent
You may not qualify if:
Any absolute contraindications for TIPS placement
Use of ciclosporin
Life-threatening variceal bleeding with emergency TIPS placement which can not be delayed 72 hours
Age \> 80 years
Non-cirrhotic portal hypertension
Portal vein thrombosis (main trunk)
HIV
Current or recent (\<3 months) use of rifaximin
Overt neurologic diseases such as Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease
Pregnant or breastfeeding women
Patients refusing or unable to sign informed consent
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
F.J.C. Cuperus, Dr.CONTACT
Leiden University Medical Center
Leiden, Netherlands
RECRUITING
M. Coenraad, Dr.CONTACT
Radboud University
Nijmegen, Netherlands
RECRUITING
E.T.T.L. Tjwa, Dr.CONTACT
Erasmus Medical Center
Rotterdam, Netherlands
RECRUITING
S. Coenen, Drs.CONTACT
Nutritional and Metabolic Diseases
Fibrosis
Pathological Conditions, Signs and Symptoms
Intervention Hierarchy (Ancestors)
RifamycinsHeterocyclic Compounds, 4 or More RingsHeterocyclic Compounds, Fused-RingHeterocyclic CompoundsLactams, MacrocyclicMacrocyclic CompoundsPolycyclic Compounds
This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
December 31, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Last Updated
January 28, 2025
Record last verified: 2025-01
Data Sharing
IPD Sharing
Will not share
Source records
Study fields come from the primary record; confirmed relationships can use other sources. Selecting a record here changes its provenance and downloads, without replacing the displayed study fields.
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.