Study Stopped
Change in priority of interventional protocols
Change in priority of interventional protocols
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
0
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
February 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
January 31, 2020
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
The purpose of this protocol is test whether patients with hypertension refractory to antihypertensive treatment have evidence of excessive sympathetic (i.e., nervous system) activity.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
January 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
January 22, 2015
Actual (reported)February 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
February 6, 2015
Actual (reported)January 31, 2020
Actual (reported)January 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
% of subjects who achieve BP control (<140/90 mm Hg)
BP will be measured 8 weeks after starting carvedilol and after starting chlorthaidone. The percent of subjects with BP of \<140/90 mm HG in each group will be reported.
8 weeks after baseline
Carvedilol CR 40 mg daily in addition to their normal BP medications. Subjects will be seen in follow-up at 2-week intervals for the duration of the 8-week intervention period. If the clinic BP remains elevated (\>140/90 mmHg) at any of the follow-up visits, the study medication will be titrated up to carvedilol CR 80 mg daily (subjects will take 2 of the study pills).
Chlorthalidone 12.5 mg daily in addition to their normal BP medications. Subjects will be seen in follow-up at 2-week intervals for the duration of the 8-week intervention period. If the clinic BP remains elevated (\>140/90 mmHg) at any of the follow-up visits, the study medication will be titrated up to chlorthalidone 25 mg daily (subjects will take 2 of the study pills).
CR 40 mg daily in addition to normal BP medications
12.5 mg daily in addition to normal BP medications
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
David A. Calhoun, MD
Cardiology Department - University of Alabama at Birmingham
0 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
January 22, 2015
First Posted
February 6, 2015
Study Start
February 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
January 31, 2020
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Last Updated
June 12, 2020
Record last verified: 2020-06
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: