Pharmacological Aids for Interactive Smoking Cessation
NRT_2
NRT_2
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
NIH
interventional
500
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
February 2001
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
January 2005
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2006
Actual (reported)There is an important need for effective smoking cessation programs that both (a) promote the effective use of pharmacological aids, such as nicotine replacement products and bupropion, and (b) provide cognitive-behavioral support for stopping smoking.The Internet is an increasingly attractive intervention medium for delivering behavior change interventions, including smoking cessation.This study examined smoking cessation rates among adults participating in a randomized controlled trial of the Smokefree Partners: 21 Days to Freedom ™ program, a theoretically based, online smoking cessation program that included message tailoring and interactivity combined with the live personal support of a smoking cessation coach. Coaching support was provided almost entirely asynchronously via prescripted but individually tailored emails.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
January 2006
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
February 2001
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
January 2005
Actual (reported)January 2006
Actual (reported)December 29, 2014
Actual (reported)December 31, 2014
Actual (reported)Smoking cessation
Current smoking status was determined with two items: (a) a stage of change measure indicating smoking status and (b) a measure indicating the number of cigarettes smoked in the past 7 days. Abstinence at 30-day posttest and 120-day follow-up was confirmed by the participant choosing both (a) the response of "I do not currently smoke; I quit in the last 6 months" to the stage of change measure and (b) a response of "0" to the question "During the past 7 days, how many cigarettes did you smoke each day?"
120 days
Intentions to quit smoking
30 days and 120 days after baseline
intentions to quit and remain smokefree
30 days and 120 days after baseline
self-efficacy for quitting
30 days and 120 days after baseline
intentions to use a pharmacological smoking cessation aid (PA)
30 days and 120 days after baseline
Smoking cessation website program with live personal coach
120-day wait-list and then provided access to the smoking cessation website
Treatment subjects, who chose a quit date, were given 21 sessions to be viewed one session (i..e, one day) at a time, and an in-person smoking cessation coach to support them through their quit process via tailored email or phone coaching messages. Treatment users were encouraged to use pharmacological aids in their quit attempt, but smoking cessation aids were not provided.
Susan Schroeder, MPH, MCHES
Oregon Center for Applied Science
500 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
December 29, 2014
First Posted
December 31, 2014
Study Start
February 2001
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
ISTAPS: A Stepped Primary Care Smoking Cessation Intervention
Subjects randomized to the control condition were placed on a wait-list and given access to the smoking cessation program after 120 days and completion of the 120-day follow-up assessment.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
January 2005
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2006
Actual (reported)Last Updated
January 1, 2015
Record last verified: 2014-12
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: