WHO Drug Study for Buruli Ulcer - Comparison of SR8 and CR8
Randomized Controlled Trial Comparing Efficacy of 8 Weeks Treatment With Clarithromycin and Rifampicin Versus Streptomycin and Rifampicin for Buruli Ulcer (M. Ulcerans Infection)
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
310
2 countries
5
Study Start
December 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 2017
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2018
Actual (reported)This is a WHO-sponsored trial. Combination therapy with streptomycin and rifampicin has been the standard antibiotic treatment for M. ulcerans infection since 2004. In March 2010, a WHO Technical Advisory Group recommended that a trial be carried out to develop a fully oral treatment for the disease. Although the current treatment is effective, injection with streptomycin is a problem. Several small observational studies (published and unpublished) have shown that a fully oral treatment is promising. This WHO sponsored study will be a randomized, controlled open label non-inferiority phase II/III, multi-centre trial (1 centre in Benin and 4 centres in Ghana), with two parallel treatment groups. The ultimate goal is to search for an effective alternative treatment to the current standard WHO-recommended therapy for all forms of Buruli ulcer, which includes injections of streptomycin with inherent logistic, operational and safety disadvantages. Financial and material support:
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
January 2018
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
August 2, 2012
Actual (reported)August 7, 2012
Actual (reported)December 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
December 2017
Actual (reported)January 2018
Actual (reported)healing without recurrence and without excision surgery
complete epithelialisation and absence of swelling at the site of original infection, measured 12 months after start of treatment; lesion site will be examined by inspection and palpation, and documented by digital camera; digital images will be examined by panel of wound experts unaware of treatment allocation
12 months after start of treatment
Recurrence rate within 12 months of treatment initiation
12 months
Rate of treatment failure within 12 months of treatment initiation
12 months
Rate of paradoxical response within 12 months of treatment initiation
12 months
Proportion of patients with reduction in lesion surface area within 12 months of treatment initiation
12 months
Time taken for complete lesion healing within 12 months of treatment initiation
12 months
Streptomycin (S: 15 mg/kg per day, intramuscularly) in combination with rifampicin (R: 10 mg/kg per day, orally) for 8 weeks
Clarithromycin (C: 15 mg/kg per day, oral extended release formulation) in combination with rifampicin (10 mg/kg per day, orally) for 8 weeks
Pobè Treatment Center
Pobè, Benin
Agogo Presbyterian Hospital
Agogo, Ghana
Dunkwa Government Hospital
Dunkwa-on-Offin, Ghana
Nkawie-Toase Government Hospital
Nkawie Panyin, Ghana
Tepa Government Hosital
Tepa, Ghana
Nienhuis WA, Stienstra Y, Thompson WA, Awuah PC, Abass KM, Tuah W, Awua-Boateng NY, Ampadu EO, Siegmund V, Schouten JP, Adjei O, Bretzel G, van der Werf TS. Antimicrobial treatment for early, limited Mycobacterium ulcerans infection: a randomised controlled trial. Lancet. 2010 Feb 20;375(9715):664-72. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(09)61962-0. Epub 2010 Feb 3.
Chauty A, Ardant MF, Marsollier L, Pluschke G, Landier J, Adeye A, Goundote A, Cottin J, Ladikpo T, Ruf T, Ji B. Oral treatment for Mycobacterium ulcerans infection: results from a pilot study in Benin. Clin Infect Dis. 2011 Jan 1;52(1):94-6. doi: 10.1093/cid/ciq072.
Tjip S van der Werf, MD, PhD
University of Groningen, University Medical Centre Groningen
Richard O Phillips, MD, PhD
Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology, Kumasi, Ghana
Annick Chauty, MD
Pobè Health Centre, Pobè, Bénin
Kingsley B Asiedu, MD, MPH
WHO, GBUI, Geneva, Switserland
310 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
August 2, 2012
First Posted
August 7, 2012
Study Start
December 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Telacebec (T) Treatment in Adults With Buruli Ulcer (BU). (TREAT BU)
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Gordon CL, Buntine JA, Hayman JA, Lavender CJ, Fyfe JA, Hosking P, Starr M, Johnson PD. All-oral antibiotic treatment for buruli ulcer: a report of four patients. PLoS Negl Trop Dis. 2010 Nov 30;4(11):e770. doi: 10.1371/journal.pntd.0000770. No abstract available.
O'Brien DP, McDonald A, Callan P, Robson M, Friedman ND, Hughes A, Holten I, Walton A, Athan E. Successful outcomes with oral fluoroquinolones combined with rifampicin in the treatment of Mycobacterium ulcerans: an observational cohort study. PLoS Negl Trop Dis. 2012 Jan;6(1):e1473. doi: 10.1371/journal.pntd.0001473. Epub 2012 Jan 17.
Phillips RO, Robert J, Abass KM, Thompson W, Sarfo FS, Wilson T, Sarpong G, Gateau T, Chauty A, Omollo R, Ochieng Otieno M, Egondi TW, Ampadu EO, Agossadou D, Marion E, Ganlonon L, Wansbrough-Jones M, Grosset J, Macdonald JM, Treadwell T, Saunderson P, Paintsil A, Lehman L, Frimpong M, Sarpong NF, Saizonou R, Tiendrebeogo A, Ohene SA, Stienstra Y, Asiedu KB, van der Werf TS; study team. Rifampicin and clarithromycin (extended release) versus rifampicin and streptomycin for limited Buruli ulcer lesions: a randomised, open-label, non-inferiority phase 3 trial. Lancet. 2020 Apr 18;395(10232):1259-1267. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(20)30047-7. Epub 2020 Mar 12.
Converse PJ, Almeida DV, Tasneen R, Saini V, Tyagi S, Ammerman NC, Li SY, Anders NM, Rudek MA, Grosset JH, Nuermberger EL. Shorter-course treatment for Mycobacterium ulcerans disease with high-dose rifamycins and clofazimine in a mouse model of Buruli ulcer. PLoS Negl Trop Dis. 2018 Aug 13;12(8):e0006728. doi: 10.1371/journal.pntd.0006728. eCollection 2018 Aug.
Primary Completion
December 2017
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2018
Actual (reported)Last Updated
September 26, 2019
Record last verified: 2019-09
after publication, IPD will be made available at the time of publication; enrollment is complewted with 310 participants enrolled by Dec 2017; final report submitted for publication Sept 2019
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: