Loading search results
Investigators decided not to continue
Evaluating Transporter Protein Inhibitors in Patients With Epilepsy
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
8
1 country
1
Study Start
March 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
June 2011
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2011
Actual (reported)The study is being done to understand why some patients with epilepsy (disease of recurrence of seizures) do not respond very well to drug treatment with anticonvulsants. Despite the availability of many anticonvulsants, about 30% of patients with epilepsy are resistant to them. The cause of the resistance is not clear, but one of the reasons could be an increased amount of proteins in the cells of the body called transporter proteins. Transporter proteins are a group of proteins that help to defend the body against toxins, including drugs, by pumping them out of the cells. Studies have shown that the number of transporter proteins is higher in the parts of the brain that trigger seizures when compared to other parts of the brain. Studies in animals have shown that taking an anticonvulsant with an inhibitor (meaning "to stop" or "to reduce") of a transporter protein can increase the concentration of that anticonvulsant inside the brain cells. The main purpose of the study is to determine if taking an anticonvulsant and a transporter protein inhibitor will change the brain concentration of the anticonvulsant. In this study, a single dose of phenytoin (Dilantin® is a brand name anticonvulsant which has phenytoin as its active ingredient), a commonly used anticonvulsant, will be given once by itself, and then will be given a separate time with a single (i.e. one time only) dose of probenecid. Probenecid, a medicine used commonly to treat gout (a disease of increased uric acid), is known to be an inhibitor of transporter proteins. The study will use electroencephalogram or EEG (recording of brain wave activities) to determine if the EEG pattern when probenecid is given, will be different from the EEG pattern when phenytoin is given alone. This will suggest that probenecid has affected the brain concentration of phenytoin.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
June 2011
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
March 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
January 28, 2008
Actual (reported)February 8, 2008
Actual (reported)June 2011
Actual (reported)June 2011
Actual (reported)May 14, 2013
Actual (reported)Quantitative EEG Recordings
end of each treatment
intravenous phenytoin alone
intravenous phenytoin plus probenecid
intravenous phenytoin (15 mg/kg) single dose and oral probenecid 2000 mg single dose
These entries preserve how the registry describes the intervention. Their treatment roles are shown separately from molecular identities.
Grouped treatment entry
phenytoin and probenecid
The registry names several treatments. This does not confirm that participants received them together or that they form a single product.
View registry recordThe Ohio State University
Columbus, Ohio, 43210, United States
problems with measurement led to uninterpretable data
James W McAuley, PhD
Ohio State University
Bassel F Shneker, MD
Ohio State University
8 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
January 28, 2008
First Posted
February 8, 2008
Study Start
March 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Linked from the registry description. Each source intervention is retained as reported.
In: phenytoin and probenecid
In: phenytoin and probenecid
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
June 2011
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2011
Actual (reported)Last Updated
May 14, 2013
Results First Posted
May 14, 2013
Record last verified: 2013-05
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: