BASIC: Boosted Atazanavir or Saquinavir Induced Lipid Changes
A Randomised, Controlled, Open-Label, 48-Week, Study To Asses Differences in Changes In Plasma Lipid Profile Between Patients On Saquinavir/Ritonavir Or Atazanavir/Ritonavir In Combination With Tenofovir Disoproxil Fumarate And Emtricitabine As A First-line Regimen.
This date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
Not reported
Date not reported
Study Completion
July 2008
Actual (reported)
Brief Summary
The purpose of this study is to assess differences in changes in plasma lipids between patients on saquinavir/ritonavir or atazanavir/ritonavir in combination with tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and emtricitabine as a first-line regimen in patients previously naive for antiretroviral therapy. This study is an extension from the SSAR 2004/0002 which randomised patients over the same treatment arms.
Registry Overview
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
Recruitment status
completed
Estimated enrollment
120 participants
Study completion date
July 2008
Actual (reported)
Listed locations
1 countries · 1 sites
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Related Scientific Literature
Loading related publications...
Study Timeline
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
Study Start
July 2006
Date type not reported
This date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
To assess the differences in changes in plasma lipids after once-daily saquinavir/ritonavir (2000/100 mg) or atazanavir/ritonavir (300/100 mg) each in combination with tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (300 mg QD) and emtricitabine (200 mg QD) for 24 weeks
Secondary Outcomes (6)
To assess the differences in changes in plasma lipids after once-daily saquinavir/ritonavir (2000/100 mg QD) or atazanavir/ritonavir (300/100 mg QD) each in combination with tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and emtricitabine for 48 weeks.
To compare differences in changes in glucose metabolism.
To compare changes in fat redistribution in both study arms.
To relate differences in changes in lipids, glucose metabolism and abdominal fat distribution to the plasma exposure of the different protease inhibitors (including ritonavir) used in the trial.
To assess the change in estimated glomerular filtration rate (GFR) by Cockcroft-Gault, MDRD and cystatin C-derived equations in both study arms.
+1 more secondary outcomes
Interventions
saquinavir/ritonavirDrug
atazanavir/ritonavirDrug
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Registry intervention entries
These entries preserve how the registry describes the intervention. Their treatment roles are shown separately from molecular identities.
Grouped treatment entry
saquinavir/ritonavir
The registry names several treatments. This does not confirm that participants received them together or that they form a single product.
Males or non-pregnant, non-lactating females. Women of childbearing age must have a negative urine pregnancy test at screening. All female participants must be encouraged to utilise adequate contraception for the month preceding entry and for the duration of the study.
Anti-retroviral treatment naive.
Indication for antiretroviral therapy according to current treatment guidelines.
You may not qualify if:
CD4 count \> 350 cells/mm3, except in case of symptomatic HIV disease and/or an AIDS-defining illness.
HIV-2 co infection.
Use of co-medication with a known pharmacological interaction which precludes the appropriate use of one or more of the study drugs.
Anticipated non-compliance with the protocol.
Presence of a newly (within 30 days prior to the time of enrolment) diagnosed HIV-related opportunistic infection or condition which may interfere with the ability to comply with the study.
Chronic active viral hepatitis or other chronic liver disease, which in the opinion of the investigator is a contraindication for the use of any of the study drugs. Patients who may be considered to have active HBV replication (HBV-surface antigen positive and/or HBV-DNA positive) may be excluded in case the investigator feels that the benefit of starting tenofovir/emtricitabine does not outweigh the risk of a "hepatitis flare" in case tenofovir/emtricitabine would need to be prematurely discontinued for any reason during the trial. Chronic hepatitis C is allowed, provided that treatment for hepatitis C is not anticipated during the study period.
Women who are pregnant, or have the intention to become pregnant during the study period.
Clinically relevant laboratory abnormalities: anaemia, thrombocytopenia, leucopenia, elevated liver transaminases, elevated bilirubin, elevated amylase, elevated lipase, which in the opinion of the investigator is a contraindication for the use of any of the study drugs, or any current known clinical or laboratory parameter of ACTG Grade 4 (see Appendix 2). However, asymptomatic Grade 4 abnormalities will be permitted at the discretion of the investigator if deemed clinically appropriate. Abnormalities deemed insignificant by the investigator must be discussed with the sponsor prior to enrolment.
Note: The site will calculate each patient's CrCl using the Cockcroft-Gault formula as shown below:
CrCl = \[140 - age (yr)\] × weight (kg) × constant 72 × serum creatinine (Cr) (mg/dL) where, constant = 1 for men and 0.85 for women.
Use of nephrotoxic agents which in the opinion of the investigator are a contraindication for the use of tenofovir disoproxil fumarate and any other of the study drugs.
Patients who have received within 4 weeks prior to entry, or who have an anticipated need for treatment with radiation therapy or cytotoxic chemotherapeutic agents during the protocol study period.
Patients who have taken any investigational drug 30 days prior to the start of the study.
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.