Efficacy of Atenativ in Patients With Congenital Antithrombin Deficiency Undergoing Surgery or Delivery
A Multicenter, Prospective, Open-label, Uncontrolled Phase 3 Study to Assess the Efficacy, Safety and Pharmacokinetics of Atenativ in Patients With Congenital Antithrombin Deficiency Undergoing Surgery or Delivery
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Study Completion
December 1, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Brief Summary
The goal of this study is to assess the incidence of the composite of thrombotic events (TEs) and thromboembolic events (TEEs) in patients with congenital antithrombin deficiency under when they receive Atenativ for surgical procedures or parturition.
Registry Overview
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
Recruitment status
recruiting
Estimated enrollment
38 participants
Study completion date
December 1, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Listed locations
14 countries · 30 sites
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Related Scientific Literature
Loading related publications...
Study Timeline
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
First Submitted
May 18, 2021
Actual (reported)
First Posted
June 8, 2021
Actual (reported)
Study Start
July 1, 2022
Actual (reported)
Primary Completion
December 1, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Study Completion
December 1, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
The primary objective of this study is to assess the incidence of the composite of TEs and TEEs in patients with congenital antithrombin deficiency under cover of Atenativ for surgical procedures or parturition
Up to day 30 post treatment initiation
Secondary Outcomes (13)
Single dose Pharmacokinetics of Atenativ: Area under the curve (AUCnorm(0-∞))
Up to day 14 post PK infusion
Single dose Pharmacokinetics of Atenativ: Maximum plasma concentration (Cmax)
Before first infusion, 20 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours, 8 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3, days, 4 days, 5 days, 6 days, 7 days, 8 days, 10 days, 12 days and 14 days post-infusion
Single dose Pharmacokinetics of Atenativ: Half-life (t1/2)
Before first infusion, 20 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours, 8 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3, days, 4 days, 5 days, 6 days, 7 days, 8 days, 10 days, 12 days and 14 days post-infusion
Single dose Pharmacokinetics of Atenativ: Mean residence time (MRT)
Before first infusion, 20 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours, 8 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3, days, 4 days, 5 days, 6 days, 7 days, 8 days, 10 days, 12 days and 14 days post-infusion
Single dose Pharmacokinetics of Atenativ: Clearance (CL)
Before first infusion, 20 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours, 8 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3, days, 4 days, 5 days, 6 days, 7 days, 8 days, 10 days, 12 days and 14 days post-infusion
Study Arms (1)
Atenativ treatment
EXPERIMENTAL
During the PK phase, patients will receive a 60 IU/kg Atenativ as a single intravenous infusion for PK analysis.
During the treatment phase, patients will receive a single intravenous loading dose followed by maintenance doses administered every 24 hours for approximately 2-7 days for surgical patients and approximately 5 days for parturients
Drug: Atenativ
Interventions
AtenativDrug
Antithrombin concentrate
Atenativ treatment
Atenativ 50 NE/ml por és oldószer oldatos infúzióhoz vagy injekcióhozType not reported
Atenativ 1000 UI/20 ml polvere e solvente per soluzione per infusione endovenosa
Eligibility Criteria
Age12 Years - 80 Years
Sexall
Healthy VolunteersNo
Age GroupsChild (0-17), Adult (18-64), Older Adult (65+)
You may qualify if:
Adult male or female patients ≥18 and ≤80 years of age. Solely in the US, 4 male or female patients between ≥12 and \<17 years of age will be enrolled into the PK phase, and subsequently in the treatment phase, if applicable
Documented congenital antithrombin deficiency, defined by plasma activity level of antithrombin ≤60% from medical history
Atenativ 1000 I.E. Pulver und Lösungsmittel zur Herstellung einer InfusionslösungType not reported
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Personal or family history of TEs or TEEs (except for PK patients)
For the Treatment Phase: either a) non-pregnant surgical patients scheduled for elective surgical procedure(s) known to be associated with a high risk for occurrence of TEs or TEEs, or b) pregnant patients of at least 27 weeks gestational age who are scheduled for caesarean section or delivery
For female patients of childbearing potential entering the PK Phase who are not known to be pregnant, and for female surgical patients of childbearing potential entering the Treatment Phase for any procedure other than caesarean section or delivery, a negative urine pregnancy test at screening and at baseline
Patient has provided informed consent
You may not qualify if:
Requires emergency surgery or emergency caesarean section
Has undergone surgery within the last 6 weeks
History or suspicion of another hereditary thrombophilic disorder other than antithrombin deficiency (e.g., activated protein C \[APC\] resistance/Factor V Leiden, Protein S or C deficiency, prothrombin gene mutation \[G20210A\], or acquired \[lupus anticoagulant\] thrombophilic disorder)
Malignancies, renal failure (patients on renal replacement therapy), or severe liver disease (aspartate aminotransferase \[ASAT\] \>5 times the upper limit of normal)
Body mass index \>40 kg/m2 (for non-pregnant patients, only)
Known hypersensitivity or allergic reaction to antithrombin or any of the excipients in Atenativ
History of anaphylactic reaction(s) to blood or blood components
Refusal to receive transfusion of blood-derived products
Administration of any antithrombin concentrate or antithrombin-containing blood product within 14 days of either of the two phases of the study
Prior diagnosis of heparin-induced thrombocytopenia
TE or TEE within the last 6 months
Female patients who are nursing at the time of screening\*
Have participated in another investigational study within the last 30 days
Persons dependent on the sponsor, the investigator or the centre of investigation
Persons placed in an institution by administrative or judicial order
+1 more criteria
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
New York, New York, 10065, United States
RECRUITING
Duke University School of Medicine, Division of Hematology
Durham, North Carolina, 27708, United States
RECRUITING
Yeolyan Hematology and Oncology Centre
Yerevan, Armenia
RECRUITING
Medizinische Universität Wien. Universitätsklinik für Innere Medizin Klinische Abteilung für Hämatologie und Hämostaseologie
Vienna, Austria
RECRUITING
Centre for Thrombosis and Haemaostasis Nemocnice
Nymburk, Czechia
RECRUITING
Centre de Référence de l'Hémophilie Unité d'Hémostase Clinique Hôpital Cardiologique Louis Pradel
Bron, France
RECRUITING
University Hospital of Reims
Reims, France
RECRUITING
Centre Hospitalier Universitaire de Rouen (CHU de Rouen) - Centre de Traitement des Maladies Hemorragiques (CRTH) (Centre d'Hemophiles)
Rouen, France
RECRUITING
Aversi Clinic
Tbilisi, Georgia
RECRUITING
Vivantes Klinikum Friedrichshain Klinik für Angiologie Hämostaseologie
Berlin, Germany
RECRUITING
UKB Bonn Institut für Experimentelle Hämatologie und Transfusionsmedizin
Bonn, Germany
RECRUITING
Gerinnungszentrum Rhein-Ruhr
Duisburg, Germany
RECRUITING
University of Debrecen, Medical and Health Science Centre
Debrecen, Hungary
RECRUITING
Rabin Medical Centre, Institute of Haematology
Petah Tikva, Israel
RECRUITING
Sheba Medical Centre
Ramat Gan, Israel
RECRUITING
Unita Strutturale Complessa di Immunoematologia e Medicina Trasfusionale -Dipartimento Interaziendale di Medicina Trasfusionale ed Ematologia - ASST Papa Giovanni XXIII ematologia Piazza OMS, 1
Bergamo, 24127, Italy
RECRUITING
Universita degli Studi di Milano - IRCCS Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico - Centro Emofilia e Trombosi Angelo Bianchi Bonomi
Royal-free Hospital-Katherine Dormandy Haemophilia and Thrombosis Centre
London, United Kingdom
RECRUITING
St. Thomas Hospital, Guy's and St. Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust
London, United Kingdom
RECRUITING
Study Completion
December 1, 2026
Estimated
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Last Updated
September 28, 2026
Record last verified: 2026-09
Data Sharing
IPD Sharing
Will not share
Source records
Study fields come from the primary record; confirmed relationships can use other sources. Selecting a record here changes its provenance and downloads, without replacing the displayed study fields.
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.