Sponsor study identifier
interventional
200
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
October 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
October 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2016
Actual (reported)This study evaluates the effect of larger or smaller opioid prescriptions following minor surgery on the amount of narcotic used, patient reported satisfaction, refill requests, and leftover narcotic.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
October 2016
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
October 2016
Actual (reported)October 2016
Actual (reported)November 18, 2016
Actual (reported)November 22, 2016
Actual (reported)Narcotic used
number of narcotic tabs taken by patient (5mg hydrocodone/325 mg acetaminophen)
10-14 days post-op
Number of refills requested
10-14 days post-op
Number of left over tabs
10-14 days post-op
Patient reported efficacy of pain control
10-14 days post-op
Patient reported satisfaction with pain control
10-14 days post-op
Patient reported satisfaction with overall surgical experience
10-14 days post-op
Initial prescription for 10 narcotic tabs
Initial prescription for 30 narcotic tabs
Reduced number of pills in initial prescription post-operatively
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Gaddis A, Dowlati E, Apel PJ, Bravo CJ, Dancea HC, Hagan HJ, Mierisch CM, Metzger TA, Mierisch C. Effect of Prescription Size on Opioid Use and Patient Satisfaction After Minor Hand Surgery: A Randomized Clinical Trial. Ann Surg. 2019 Dec;270(6):976-982. doi: 10.1097/SLA.0000000000003127.
Cassandra Mierisch, MD
Carilion Clinic
200 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
November 18, 2016
First Posted
November 22, 2016
Study Start
October 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
The Effect of Adding Dexamethasone to Epidural Bupivacaine for Total Knee Replacement Surgery
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
October 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2016
Actual (reported)Last Updated
November 22, 2016
Record last verified: 2016-11
none currently
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: