Safety, Tolerability, and Immunogenicity of the Ebola Chimpanzee Adenovirus Vector Vaccine (cAd3-EBO), VRC-EBOADC069-00-VP, in Healthy Adults
VRC 207: A Phase I/1b, Open-Label, Dose-Escalation Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Safety, Tolerability and Immunogenicity of the Ebola Chimpanzee Adenovirus Vector Vaccines, VRC-EBOADC069-00-VP (cAd3-EBO) and VRC-EBOADC076-00-VP (cAd3-EBOZ), in Healthy Adults
Other study identifiers
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
interventional
143
1 country
3
Study Start
August 27, 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
April 5, 2017
Actual (reported)Study Completion
April 5, 2017
Actual (reported)Brief Summary
Background: \- Ebola virus causes an infection known as Ebola virus disease (EVD). This it is generally a severe disease which can also lead to death. The 2014 outbreak of EVD in West Africa is the largest ever. Researchers want to develop a vaccine to prevent Ebola infection. It is impossible for someone to get an Ebola infection from this vaccine. Objectives: \- To see if an Ebola vaccine is safe and to study immune responses to it. Eligibility: \- Healthy adults ages 18-65. Design:
- Participants will be screened through a separate protocol.
- Participants will receive the vaccine injection by needle and syringe into an upper arm muscle. - Participants will stay at the clinic for 3 hours after the injection.
- About 2 days later, participants must speak with clinic staff about how they are doing.
- Every day for 7 days after the injection, participants will record their temperature and symptoms and look at the injection site. They will get a thermometer and a ruler to measure any redness or swelling. They will report any side effects.
- In the first 2 months in the study, participants will have at least 6 clinic visits and 1 phone call. They will have at least 3 other visits over the next 9 months.
- At each visit, participants will be checked for health changes or problems since their last visit. They will be asked how they feel and if they have taken any medicine. Blood will be drawn at most visits. Urine samples may be collected.
Registry Overview
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
- Recruitment status
- completed
- Actual enrollment (reported)
- 143 participants
- Study completion date
April 5, 2017
Actual (reported)- Listed locations
- 1 countries · 3 sites
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Study Timeline
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
Study Start
August 27, 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
First Submitted
September 3, 2014
Actual (reported)First Posted
September 4, 2014
Actual (reported)Primary Completion
April 5, 2017
Actual (reported)Study Completion
April 5, 2017
Actual (reported)
- Last Updated
- July 5, 2018
- Status Verified
- April 5, 2017
- Last Update Submitted
- July 3, 2018