Sponsor study identifier
interventional
40
1 country
1
Study Start
May 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
September 2014
Actual (reported)Study Completion
September 2014
Actual (reported)Seeds from the Buglossoides arvensis plant (trademarked as Ahiflower™) produce oil that is a rich natural source (20%) of stearidonic acid (SDA), a metabolic intermediate between omega-3 fatty acids found in other plants (such as flax) and those found in fish oils. The objectives of this study to collect safety data and to investigate the accumulation of long chain n-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids in human lipids following oral supplementation with Ahiflower oil in healthy adults.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
September 2014
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
May 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
August 6, 2014
Actual (reported)August 27, 2014
Actual (reported)September 2014
Actual (reported)September 2014
Actual (reported)Plasma eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) concentration
Expressed as μmol/L plasma
Day 0, Day 14, Day 28
Plasma eicosatetraenoic acid (ETA) concentration
Day 0, Day 14, Day 28
Plasma docosapentaenoic acid (DPA) concentration
Day 0, Day 14, Day 28
Plasma 20:4n-3, EPA and DPA individually as % of total fatty acids
Day 0, Day 14, Day 28
Erythrocyte 20:4n-3, EPA and DPA individually as % of total fatty acids
Day 0, Day 14, Day 28
Mononuclear cell 20:4n-3, EPA and DPA individually as % of total fatty acids
Day 0, Day 14, Day 28
9.73ml Flaxseed oil once daily, for 28 days
9.73ml Ahiflower oil once daily, for 28 days
9.73 ml per day for 28 days
9.73ml per day for 28 days
Université de Moncton
Moncton, New Brunswick, E1A 3E9, Canada
Marc Surette, PhD
Université de Moncton
Rémi LeBlanc, MD
Centre Hospitalier Dr Georges-L.-Dumont
40 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
August 6, 2014
First Posted
August 27, 2014
Study Start
May 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
September 2014
Actual (reported)Study Completion
September 2014
Actual (reported)Last Updated
September 2, 2015
Record last verified: 2015-09
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: