Study Stopped
Because of many unseen obstacles resulted in poor accrual, study is terminated.
Efficacy and Safety Assessment of NIlotinib in CML Patients With Suboptimal Response on Imatinib Therapy
NISRI
Because of many unseen obstacles resulted in poor accrual, study is terminated.
NISRI
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
98
1 country
2
Study Start
March 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2016
Actual (reported)whether Nilotinib at the two sequential dosage forms will induce quicker and deeper response in those patients, and if FISH on PB (Peripheral blood) would be an effective way to monitor response compared to conventional cytogenetics on bone marrow (BM) sample
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
August 2016
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
March 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
February 27, 2014
Actual (reported)March 13, 2014
Actual (reported)August 2016
Actual (reported)August 2016
Actual (reported)The primary efficacy variable of this study is the overall Major molecular response at 12 month after starting Nilotinib 300mg twice daily for patient who suboptimally responded to Imatinib as per the ELN guidelines
12 Months
Rate of cytogenetic response (complete cytogenetic response CCyR and Major cytogenetic response MCyR) and Major molecular response MMR at 3, 6 and 12 months of starting Nilotinib in patients who had a suboptimal response on Imatinib.
12Months
Rate of CCyR at 6 months and MMR at 6 and 12 months from Nilotinib dose escalating to 400 mg BID.
12 months
Rate and duration of Complete Hematologic Response CHR.
12 months
Rate of CMR at 12 months of Nilotinib.
12 months
Comparison of FISH results with conventional cytogenetics at 3, 6 & 12 months.
12
Mutational analysis for the patients with suboptimal response at the pre defined end points as per the ELN guidelines.
12 months
Patients diagnosed with chronic myeloid leukemia receiving treatment of Imatinib 400 mg but show sub-optimal response on Imatinib therapy as per the ELN 2013 guidelines will be switched to Nilotinib 300 mg twice daily and will be assessed for timely. In the absence of safety concerns, nilotinib could be escalated to 400 mg twice daily if patients had not obtained any of the following milestones: 1. BCR-ABL1 transcript level ≤ 10% at 3 months; 2. CCyR at 6 months, 3. BCR/ABL1 ≤ 1% at 6 months 4. MMR at 12 months, or 5. if they showed loss of cytogenetic or molecular response or disease progression at any time. Failure and thus, stopping nilotinib will be considered if any of above milestones happened while on the 400mg twice daily dose.
Patients diagnosed with chronic myeloid leukemia receiving treatment of Imatinib 400 mg once a day but are determined to be sub-optimally responding to Imatinib therapy as per the ELN 2013 guidelines will be switched to Nilotinib 300 mg BID and then will be assessed for therapy response. ELN guidelines 2013 for imatinib therapy response states as: Minor cytogenetic response mCyR or minimal response at 3 months (Ph+ metaphases in BM 35 to 95 %); BCR-ABL1 transcript \> 10% at 3 months; Partial cytogenetic response at 6 months Ph+ metaphases in BM 0to 35); BCR-ABL1 transcript is 1 to 10% at 6 months. Less than a major molecular response at \> 12 months; i.e (BCR-ABL1 0.1 -1%)
National Guard Hospital
Riyadh, Central, 11426, Saudi Arabia
King Fahad specialist Hospital
Dammam, Eastern Province, Saudi Arabia
Dr. Ahmad S. Alaskar, MD,FACP,FRCP
King Abdulaziz Medical City
98 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
February 27, 2014
First Posted
March 13, 2014
Study Start
March 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
August 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2016
Actual (reported)Last Updated
March 7, 2017
Record last verified: 2017-03
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: