The Children in Action Feasibility Study
CIA
CIA
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
interventional
274
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
September 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2009
Actual (reported)The Children in Action (CIA) program was a five month physical activity intervention. This intervention was a feasibility study with 3- to 5-year-olds enrolled in four Head Start centers. After baseline assessment, centers were matched by ethnicity and for number of participants and randomly assigned to either the intervention or the control condition. A total of 224 preschool children were randomly selected across the four centers. To evaluate the efficacy of the CIA intervention, the change in physical activity, gross motor skills and weight during the awake time and used mixed effect time-series regression models was compared. Observations did not show a statistical difference between intervention and control groups in physical activity level during the awake time, gross motor development or weight status. It was demonstrated that it is feasible to conduct the SPARK-EC curriculum among preschool children attending Head Start Centers but that an increased dose and/or longer intervention duration will be required to impact gross motor skills, weight status and physical activity levels during this critical early childhood development stage.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
August 2009
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
September 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
August 2009
Actual (reported)August 2009
Actual (reported)September 17, 2012
Actual (reported)October 2, 2012
Actual (reported)Change from baseline in physical activity at post-intervention.
Mini-Mitter Actical, an accelerometer-based activity monitor, was used to assess physical activity of the preschool children. Unit of measurement was mean percentage of time spent in sedentary, light and moderate-vigorous physical activity each day.
8 months
Change from baseline in gross motor skills at post intervention.
8 months
Body Mass Index
8 months
SPARK-EC curriculum for preschoolers offered instruction and practice in a comprehensive program designed to promote motor development through increased physical activity.
The CIA study was a 5 month physical activity change intervention that utilized the SPARK-EC curriculum as the intervention. The SPARK-EC curriculum was designed to be a quality, comprehensive physical activity program for the preschool setting. Pre-and Post-intervention assessments were conducted
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Theresa A Nicklas, DrPH
Baylor College of Medicine
274 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
September 17, 2012
First Posted
October 2, 2012
Study Start
September 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Tailored Worksite Weight Control Programs
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
August 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2009
Actual (reported)Last Updated
October 2, 2012
Record last verified: 2012-09
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: