Motor Cortex Stimulation for Chronic Neuropathic Pain
A Clinical Evaluation for the Management of Patients With Chronic Neuropathic Pain With Cortical Stimulation
A Clinical Evaluation for the Management of Patients With Chronic Neuropathic Pain With Cortical Stimulation
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
38
1 country
1
Study Start
October 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
December 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
The purpose of this study is to evaluate the efficacy of cortical stimulation (CS) as an adjunctive treatment for chronic neuropathic pain.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
January 13, 2012
Actual (reported)March 14, 2012
Actual (reported)October 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
December 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
December 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Visual Analog Scale (VAS)
The primary analysis of effectiveness is based on the mean differences in changes from the period-specific baseline in VAS scores when patients are receiving 3 month of active vs. 3 months of sham stimulation on a double-blinded fashion.
Approximately 7 months
Visual Analog Scale, responder
Participants will be followed for approximatley 18 months
Neuropathic Pain Symptom Inventory (NPSI)
Participants will be followed for approximatley 18 months
Patients will be randomized to receive either active stimulation the first 3 months followed by a one-month washout, followed by Sham Stimulation the next 3 months, vs. the reverse order of treatment, followed by single blind stimulation, and an open label phase.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
University of São Paulo - Hospital das Clínicas
São Paulo, Brazil
Edward Karst
Abbott Neuromodulation
38 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
January 13, 2012
First Posted
March 14, 2012
Study Start
October 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
The Efficacy of Motor Cortex Stimulation for Pain Control
Brief Pain Inventory (BPI)
Participants will be followed for approximatley 18 months
Short Form of the McGill Pain Questionnaire(SF-MPQ)
Participants will be followed for approximatley 18 months
Sickness Impact Profile (SIP)
Participants will be followed for approximatley 18 months
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
December 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
December 31, 2020
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Last Updated
June 12, 2020
Record last verified: 2020-06
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: