Goniocurettage as First Choice of Surgical Treatment in Chronic Open-Angle Glaucoma: Outcomes and Complications
GC
GC
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
32
1 country
1
Study Start
June 2009
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
May 2010
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2012
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
The study has the purpose to evaluate the effectiveness and safety of the goniocurettage as a first choice of surgical treatment for primary open-angle glaucoma (POAG) in patients with good vision.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
January 2012
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
June 2009
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
May 2010
Actual (reported)October 14, 2011
Actual (reported)January 2012
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
January 18, 2012
Actual (reported)Intra Ocular Pressure
The mean of at least three measures at 8:00 am two weeks before surgery. After intervention, the Intra Ocular Pressure was measured on the day after, one week after, two weeks after and every month at the same time until the end of the study (an expected average of 20 months).
Change from Baseline in Intra Ocular Pressure at 20 months
Central Corneal Thickness
Two weeks before, six months after and one year after intervention
Central corneal endothelial cell density
Two weeks before, six months after intervention and one year after intervention
Best correct visual acuity
Two weeks before, six months after and one year after intervention
Goniocurettage was used to treat open angle glaucoma patients
Ab interno surgery consisting on scraped away the trabecular tissue from the angle (goniocurettage) removing segments of pathologically altered trabecular meshwork from the scleral sulcus
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Federal University of Minas Gerais
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, 30130-100, Brazil
Jacobi PC, Dietlein TS, Krieglstein GK. Technique of goniocurettage: a potential treatment for advanced chronic open angle glaucoma. Br J Ophthalmol. 1997 Apr;81(4):302-7. doi: 10.1136/bjo.81.4.302.
Jacobi PC, Dietlein TS, Krieglstein GK. Goniocurettage for removing trabecular meshwork: clinical results of a new surgical technique in advanced chronic open-angle glaucoma. Am J Ophthalmol. 1999 May;127(5):505-10. doi: 10.1016/s0002-9394(98)00448-6.
Tiago T Souza, MD
Federal University of Minas Gerais
Sebastiao Cronemberger, PhD
Federal University of Minas Gerais
32 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
October 14, 2011
First Posted
January 18, 2012
Study Start
June 2009
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Ultrasound-guided Nerve Block: Determination of the Minimal Effective Volume of Local Anesthetic
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Jacobi PC, Dietlein TS, Krieglstein GK. Microendoscopic trabecular surgery in glaucoma management. Ophthalmology. 1999 Mar;106(3):538-44. doi: 10.1016/S0161-6420(99)90113-6.
Johnson DH, Johnson M. How does nonpenetrating glaucoma surgery work? Aqueous outflow resistance and glaucoma surgery. J Glaucoma. 2001 Feb;10(1):55-67. doi: 10.1097/00061198-200102000-00011.
Minckler D, Baerveldt G, Ramirez MA, Mosaed S, Wilson R, Shaarawy T, Zack B, Dustin L, Francis B. Clinical results with the Trabectome, a novel surgical device for treatment of open-angle glaucoma. Trans Am Ophthalmol Soc. 2006;104:40-50.
Primary Completion
May 2010
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2012
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Last Updated
January 18, 2012
Record last verified: 2012-01
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: