Relative Bioavailability Study of a Pediatric Granule Formulation of Dolutegravir
Other study identifiers
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
20
1 country
1
Study Start
June 2011
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 2011
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2011
Actual (reported)Brief Summary
Dolutegravir (DTG, GSK1349572) is an integrase inhibitor currently in Phase 3 clinical trials for the treatment of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection. A granule formulation has been developed as an alternative to the current tablet formulation for administration in pediatric populations. This is a single-center, randomized, open-label, 5-way crossover study in healthy adult subjects. The study will evaluate the relative bioavailability of a 50 mg granule formulation of dolutegravir when administered 1) directly to mouth; 2) with purified water; 3) with Contrex brand water; and 4) with milk-based infant formula compared to the current 50 mg tablet formulation administered with tap water. Safety evaluations and serial PK samples will be collected during each treatment period. A taste assessment of the granule will also be performed. A follow-up visit will occur 5-7 days after the last dose of study drug. Pharmacokinetic assessments during the study will include area under the concentration-time curve from time zero (pre-dose) extrapolated to infinite time (AUC(0-infinity)), area under the concentration-time curve from time zero (pre-dose) to last time of quantifiable concentration within a subject across all treatments (AUC(0-t)), maximum observed concentration (Cmax), terminal phase half-life (t½), lag time before observation of drug concentrations in sampled matrix (tlag), time of occurrence of Cmax (tmax), concentration at 24 hours post-dose (C24), and apparent clearance following oral dosing (CL/F).
Registry Overview
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
- Recruitment status
- completed
- Actual enrollment (reported)
- 20 participants
- Study completion date
August 2011
Actual (reported)- Listed locations
- 1 countries · 1 sites
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Study Timeline
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
Study Start
June 2011
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
First Submitted
June 23, 2011
Actual (reported)First Posted
June 27, 2011
Actual (reported)Primary Completion
August 2011
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2011
Actual (reported)
- Last Updated
- September 19, 2011
- Status Verified
- September 2011
- Last Update Submitted
- September 15, 2011