Novel Determinants and Measures of Smokeless Tobacco Use: Study 1
Toxicant Exposure Across Brands of Smokeless Tobacco
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
NIH
observational
359
1 country
3
Study Start
February 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
April 2013
Actual (reported)Study Completion
April 2013
Actual (reported)The extent of toxicity varies considerably across different brands of smokeless tobacco (ST) products and data suggest that greater toxicity may result in greater health risks. However, little is known about the actual extent of exposure to toxicants from current smokeless tobacco products and factors that might moderate the extent of this exposure. The goals of this project are to address the following questions:
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
April 2013
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
February 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
February 10, 2010
Actual (reported)February 11, 2010
Actual (reported)April 2013
Actual (reported)April 2013
Actual (reported)December 22, 2022
Actual (reported)Extent of Toxicity: Mean of Median Values of NNK+NNN in 7 Smokeless Tobacco Brands
Two important harmful constituents in smokeless tobacco products are NNN + NNK, µg/g This measure reports the tobacco-specific nitrosamines (TSNA), N'-nitrosonornicotine (NNN), and 4- (methylnitrosamino)-1-(3-pyridyl)-1-butanone (NNK) across 7 different smokeless tobacco brands.
Three "usual" dip sized samples were collected from subjects at baseline
Smokeless tobacco users of 6 brands of tobacco
University of MN's Tobacco Use Research Center
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55414, United States
Oregon Research Institute
Eugene, Oregon, 97403, United States
West Virginia University
Morgantown, West Virginia, 26506, United States
Urine, buccal cells and blood will be collected from subjects in this study.
Dorothy Hatsukami, PhD
University of Minnesota
359 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
February 10, 2010
First Posted
February 11, 2010
Study Start
February 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Direct to Smoker Outreach in a Health Care Setting
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
April 2013
Actual (reported)Study Completion
April 2013
Actual (reported)Last Updated
December 22, 2022
Results First Posted
December 22, 2022
Record last verified: 2022-11
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: