Nicotine Lozenges for Treatment of Smokeless Tobacco Addiction
Evaluating Nicotine Lozenges for Treatment of Smokeless Tobacco Addiction
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
NIH
interventional
270
1 country
2
Study Start
January 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
March 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
March 2009
Actual (reported)This study will be a randomized, blinded, placebo-controlled two-group clinical trial. The independent variable is treatment assignment (active 4-mg nicotine lozenge vs. matching placebo lozenge), and the dependent variables are all tobacco and ST abstinence at 3 and 6 months. ST users will be randomly assigned to either the 4-mg active nicotine lozenge or matching placebo.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
March 2009
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 24, 2006
Actual (reported)October 26, 2006
Actual (reported)January 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
March 2009
Actual (reported)March 2009
Actual (reported)August 30, 2010
Actual (reported)Prolonged Smokeless Tobacco Abstinence at 3 Months
Participants had to have self-reported not having used any tobacco from two weeks past the target quit date to the 3-months post baseline.
3 months
Self-reported Point Prevalence All Tobacco Abstinence at 3 Months
3 months
Prolonged Smokeless Tobacco Abstinence at 6 Months
6 months
4 mg nicotine lozenges for 3 months
Placebo nicotine lozenges for 3 months
Nicotine lozenges, 4 mg
Placebo lozenge
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, Minnesota, 55905, United States
Oregon Research Institute
Eugene, Oregon, 97403, United States
Jon O. Ebbert, M.D.
Mayo Clinic
270 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
October 24, 2006
First Posted
October 26, 2006
Study Start
January 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Novel Determinants and Measures of Smokeless Tobacco Use: Study 1
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
March 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
March 2009
Actual (reported)Last Updated
April 24, 2013
Results First Posted
August 30, 2010
Record last verified: 2013-04
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: