Loading search results
A Phase I Postcoital Testing and Safety Study of the SILCS Diaphragm, Prototype VI
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
40
1 country
2
Study Start
August 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
Not reported
Date not reportedStudy Completion
October 2004
Actual (reported)This was a Phase I multi-center, randomized study in 40 healthy, sexually active women not at risk for pregnancy due to previous female sterilization. The male partners of the participants were consented to participate in the study. The clinician evaluating the cervical mucus for midcycle characteristics and presence of sperm was blinded as to gel used. The product tested was the SILCS diaphragm with Gynol II (spermicide) and the SILCS diaphragm with KY Jelly (lubricant). The sequence of diaphragm and gel use was determined by randomization. The study was conducted at two centers, Magee-Womens Hospital in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and CONRAD's Clinical Research Center at the Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, Virginia. The study consisted of a screening visit, a baseline cycle, and up to 2 cycles of post-coital tests (PCTs) for a total of 7 visits. The first PCT was a baseline PCT, performed without the use of any product, in order to demonstrate the subject's ability to produce receptive, midcycle cervical mucus. The partner's ability to produce motile sperm capable of penetrating the cervical mucus was evaluated in this cycle. Test PCTs were carried out during the second and third menstrual cycle using either the SILCS diaphragm with N-9 or the SILCS diaphragm with lubricant. Cycles were repeated depending on the characteristics of the cervical mucus and the number of sperm found in the vaginal pool and endocervical specimens; thus, some women may undergo more than three PCTs. An additional test cycle with a modified polymer spring device was performed in a subset of participants. Colposcopy was performed during the mucus check and post-coital test visits in all three cycles in order to document the baseline condition of the vagina and cervix pre- and post-intercourse and, in test cycles, to note the effect of product. Vaginal samples were taken from the posterior fornix of the vagina and the cervical os at each visit during the baseline and test cycles to measure for the presence of PSA.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
October 2004
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
August 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
October 2004
Actual (reported)November 19, 2007
Actual (reported)November 21, 2007
Actual (reported)Percentage of women with any sperm in the cervical mucus, with ≥ 5 progressively motile sperm per high power field (HPF), and the average number of progressively motile sperm per HPF.
Within 2-3 hours of intercourse.
Symptoms and signs of irritation of the external genitalia, cervix, and vagina before and after intercourse and by gel product. The handling, fit, and general acceptability of the SILCS diaphragm was assessed.
Before and after intercourse
SILCS with K-Y Jelly
SILCS with N-9
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15213, United States
Eastern Virginia Medical School
Norfolk, Virginia, 23507, United States
Schwartz JL, Ballagh SA, Creinin MD, Rountree RW, Kilbourne-Brook M, Mauck CK, Callahan MM. SILCS diaphragm: postcoital testing of a new single-size contraceptive device. Contraception. 2008 Sep;78(3):237-44. doi: 10.1016/j.contraception.2008.04.118. Epub 2008 Jul 3.
Jill Schwartz, MD
CONRAD
40 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
November 19, 2007
First Posted
November 21, 2007
Study Start
August 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Study Completion
October 2004
Actual (reported)Last Updated
December 24, 2007
Record last verified: 2007-12
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: