Study Stopped
Slow Enrollment
Slow Enrollment
Study to Evaluate Response Rates in Chronic Hepatitis C (CHC) Patients Genotype 1 With Insulin Resistance and to Assess Prolonged Treatment Duration in Late Virological Responders
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
interventional
59
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
April 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
October 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2009
Actual (reported)This is a Phase 3b/4, prospective, open-label, randomized, multicenter study of peginterferon alfa-2b plus ribavirin in participants with chronic hepatitis C, genotype 1. The study consists of two parts: (1) a noninterventional arm (HOMA IR \<= 2) and (2) an interventional arm (HOMA IR \> 2), where HOMA IR is the insulin resistance index for the participants calculated by fasting insulin (uU/mL) x \[fasting glucose (mmol/L)/22.5\]. Participants in the noninterventional arm are treated according to the European labeling and response rates are evaluated at Month 1 (optional), 3, 6, 12, and follow up. Participants in the interventional arm are treated with PEG-Intron 1.5 ug/kg (subcutaneous) once weekly plus weight-based REBETOL 800-1400 mg (oral capsules) daily for a variable period depending on their response at Week 12: (1) HCV-RNA positive with \< 2-log drop in viral load, treatment will be discontinued; (2) HCV-RNA positive with \>= 2-log drop in viral load; participants will be randomized (1:1) to Group A (stop treatment at Week 48) or Group B (stop treatment at Week 72); and (3) HCV-RNA negative, treatment will be changed to be according to the European labeling and response rates will be evaluated at Month 6, 12, and follow up. All participants will go on with their treatment after Week 12 until the results of the HCV polymerase chain reaction (PCR) are available (maximum of 4 weeks).
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
October 2009
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
April 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
June 25, 2007
Actual (reported)June 28, 2007
Actual (reported)October 2009
Actual (reported)October 2009
Actual (reported)February 9, 2011
Actual (reported)Early Virological Response in Participants With and Without Insulin Resistance
Early Virological Response (EVR) defined as HCV PCR at Week 12 either negative or at least 2 log units less than baseline in participants with and without insulin resistance.
At Week 12 (after start of therapy)
Sustained Virological Response (PCR 24 Weeks After End of Treatment)
Up to 24 weeks following 48 or 72 weeks of therapy
HOMA IR (homeostasis model assessment-estimated insulin resistance) of \> 2 These participants received PEG-Intron 1.5 μg /kg subcutaneously (SC) once weekly plus weight based Rebetol 800-1400 mg by mouth (PO) administered twice daily (BID) for a variable period depending on their response to treatment.
HOMA IR \<= 2 These participants received PEG-Intron 1.5 μg /kg subcutaneously (SC) once weekly plus weight based Rebetol 800-1400 mg PO administered twice daily (BID) for 48 weeks. (Participants are treated according to European labeling).
1. Powder for injection in Redipen (50, 80, 100, 120, and 150 microgram strengths), subcutaneous, dose of 1.5 micrograms/kg, weekly for 12 weeks, then up to 4 weeks until HCV PCR results are available, and then for another 36 weeks(Group A) or 60 weeks (Group B) postrandomization. 2. 200 mg capsules, oral, weight based dose of 800-1400 mg, daily for up to 12 weeks, then up to 4 weeks until HCV PCR results are available, and then for another 36 weeks (Group A) or 60 weeks (Group B) postrandomization
These entries preserve how the registry describes the intervention. Their treatment roles are shown separately from molecular identities.
Grouped treatment entry
Combination of pegylated interferon alfa-2b and ribavirin
The registry names several treatments. This does not confirm that participants received them together or that they form a single product.
View registry recordGrouped treatment entry
Combination of pegylated interferon alfa-2b and ribavirin
The registry names several treatments. This does not confirm that participants received them together or that they form a single product.
View registry record59 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
June 25, 2007
First Posted
June 28, 2007
Study Start
April 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
1. Powder for injection in Redipen (50, 80, 100, 120, and 150 microgram strengths), subcutaneous, dose of 1.5 micrograms/kg, weekly for 48 weeks 2. 200 mg capsules, oral, weight based dose of 800-1400 mg, daily for 48 weeks
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
October 2009
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2009
Actual (reported)Last Updated
April 7, 2017
Results First Posted
February 9, 2011
Record last verified: 2017-03
http://www.merck.com/clinical-trials/pdf/Merck%20Procedure%20on%20Clinical%20Trial%20Data%20Access%20Final\_Updated%20July\_9\_2014.pdf http://engagezone.msd.com/ds\_documentation.php
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: