Brain Changes in Blepharospasm
Suppression and Facilitation of the Motor Cortex by Stimulation of the Cerebellum in Patients With Dystonia and Healthy Controls
Suppression and Facilitation of the Motor Cortex by Stimulation of the Cerebellum in Patients With Dystonia and Healthy Controls
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
observational
47
1 country
1
Study Start
June 12, 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
Not reported
Date not reportedStudy Completion
June 29, 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
This study will examine the role of certain areas of the brain in blepharospasm, a type of dystonia (abnormality of movement and muscle tone) that causes unwanted or uncontrollable blinking or closing of the eyelids. The study will compare brain activity in healthy volunteers and in people with blepharospasm to find differences in the brain that may lead to better treatments for dystonia. Healthy volunteers and people with blepharospasm who are 18 years of age and older may be eligible for this study. All candidates are screened with a medical history. People with blepharospasm also have a physical examination and blepharospasm rating. Participants undergo transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) and electromyography (EMG) in two 4-hour sessions, separated by 1 to 7 days. TMS A wire coil is held on the subject s scalp. A brief electrical current is passed through the coil, creating a magnetic pulse that stimulates the brain. The subject hears a click and may feel a pulling sensation on the skin under the coil. There may be a twitch in muscles of the face, arm or leg. During the stimulation, subjects may be asked to tense certain muscles slightly or perform other simple actions. Repetitive TMS involves repeated magnetic pulses delivered in short bursts of impulses. Subjects receive 60 pulses per minute over 15 minutes. EMG Surface EMG is done during TMS to measure the electrical activity of muscles. For this test, electrodes (small metal disks) are filled with a conductive gel and taped to the skin of the face.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
June 29, 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
June 12, 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
June 15, 2007
Actual (reported)June 18, 2007
Actual (reported)June 29, 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
National Institutes of Health Clinical Center, 9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, Maryland, 20892, United States
Albanese A, Barnes MP, Bhatia KP, Fernandez-Alvarez E, Filippini G, Gasser T, Krauss JK, Newton A, Rektor I, Savoiardo M, Valls-Sole J. A systematic review on the diagnosis and treatment of primary (idiopathic) dystonia and dystonia plus syndromes: report of an EFNS/MDS-ES Task Force. Eur J Neurol. 2006 May;13(5):433-44. doi: 10.1111/j.1468-1331.2006.01537.x.
Aramideh M, Koelman JH, Speelman JD, Ongerboer de Visser B. Eyelid movement disorders and electromyography. Lancet. 2001 Mar 10;357(9258):805-6. doi: 10.1016/s0140-6736(05)71235-6. No abstract available.
Mark Hallett, M.D.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS)
47 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
June 15, 2007
First Posted
June 18, 2007
Study Start
June 12, 2007
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Deep Brain Stimulation Surgery for Focal Hand Dystonia
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Aramideh M, Ongerboer de Visser BW, Holstege G, Majoie CB, Speelman JD. Blepharospasm in association with a lower pontine lesion. Neurology. 1996 Feb;46(2):476-8. doi: 10.1212/wnl.46.2.476.
Study Completion
June 29, 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Last Updated
December 16, 2019
Record last verified: 2012-06-29
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: