Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
NIH
interventional
117
1 country
1
Study Start
April 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
May 2004
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2004
Actual (reported)The primary purpose of the study is to determine if the central feature of the Therapeutic Workplace, the abstinence reinforcement contingency, is critical to initiate cocaine abstinence in injection drug using methadone patients who use cocaine consistently during methadone treatment. All subjects initially will be invited to attend the Therapeutic Workplace for an initial period, but abstinence will not be required to work during that time. During this initial period, vouchers will be contingent only on workplace attendance and performance on the training programs. Subjects (n=70) who attend the workplace consistently during the first 4 weeks of treatment, but who continue to use cocaine will be randomly assigned to a Work Only or an Abstinence Plus Work group. Subjects in the Work Only group will continue to be able to work independent of their urinalysis results. However, subjects in the Abstinence Plus Work group will be required to provide urine samples that show evidence of recent cocaine abstinence. Subjects in both groups will be invited to stay in the workplace for 6 months. We expect the subjects in the Abstinence and Work group will achieve higher rates of abstinence than the subjects in the Work Only group. This result would show that the abstinence reinforcement contingency (i.e., the requirement to provide cocaine-free urine samples to work and earn vouchers) is important in the initiation of abstinence in the study population.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
October 2004
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
April 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
May 2004
Actual (reported)October 2004
Actual (reported)November 3, 2005
Actual (reported)November 7, 2005
Actual (reported)December 16, 2016
Actual (reported)Cocaine Abstinence
Percentage of Monday, Wednesday, Friday urine samples that are negative for cocaine
6 months
Percent Opiate Negative
every month for 6 months
HIV Risk Behaviors
every month for 6 months
Participants in the Abstinence \& Work group were invited to attend the workplace throughout a 26-week intervention period, but were required to provide urine samples that indicated recent cocaine abstinence to gain access to the workplace and to maintain the maximum base pay of $8.00 per hour.
Work Only participants were invited to attend the workplace throughout a 26-week intervention period. Participants in this group continued to provide mandatory urine samples and could earn base and performance pay. Work Only participants could work and earn base and performance pay independent of urinalysis results.
Participants in the Abstinence \& Work group were invited to attend the workplace throughout a 26-week intervention period, but were required to provide urine samples that indicated recent cocaine abstinence to gain access to the workplace and to maintain the maximum base pay of $8.00 per hour.
Work Only participants were invited to attend the workplace throughout a 26-week intervention period. Participants in this group continued to provide mandatory urine samples and could earn base and performance pay. Work Only participants could work and earn base and performance pay independent of urinalysis results.
The Center for Learning and Health
Baltimore, Maryland, 21224, United States
Silverman K, Wong CJ, Needham M, Diemer KN, Knealing T, Crone-Todd D, Fingerhood M, Nuzzo P, Kolodner K. A randomized trial of employment-based reinforcement of cocaine abstinence in injection drug users. J Appl Behav Anal. 2007 Fall;40(3):387-410. doi: 10.1901/jaba.2007.40-387.
Kenneth Silverman, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University
117 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
November 3, 2005
First Posted
November 7, 2005
Study Start
April 2003
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
A Bridge to Treatment: The Therapeutic Workplace and Methadone Treatment
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
May 2004
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2004
Actual (reported)Last Updated
December 27, 2017
Results First Posted
December 16, 2016
Record last verified: 2017-12
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: