Sponsor study identifier
interventional
35
1 country
1
Study Start
June 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
October 2008
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2008
Actual (reported)Ziprasidone is a newer drug intended for the treatment of the symptoms of schizophrenia. This new drug may have an added benefit of being able to help with some of the difficulties in problem solving and memory that many patients with schizophrenia experience. The present study wants to look at ziprasidone and two other drugs frequently used to treat the symptoms of schizophrenia (risperidone and olanzapine) to see if problem solving and memory get better with ziprasidone treatment. Moreover, we will look at symptoms and how they change with treatment.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
October 2008
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
June 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
September 21, 2005
Actual (reported)September 23, 2005
Actual (reported)October 2008
Actual (reported)October 2008
Actual (reported)September 10, 2015
Actual (reported)Working Memory
California Verbal Learning Test (CVLT) trials 1 through 5 is a well established neuropsychological test of working memory. The maximum score is 80 which reflects a better outcome and the minimum score is 0 which reflects a worse outcome. The only meaningful analyses with adequate statistical power that could be reported were of the 10 schizophrenia patients who met nonresponse criteria to ziprasidone. The overall enrollment of 35 subjects was insufficient to perform the originally planned analyses in a statistically valid manner.
3 months
ziprasidone
risperidone or olanzapine
ziprasidone target dose is 160 mg/day risperidone target dose is 4 mg/day olanzapine target dose is 20 mg/day
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
These entries preserve how the registry describes the intervention. Their treatment roles are shown separately from molecular identities.
Grouped treatment entry
ziprasidone vs risperidone or olanzapine
The registry names several treatments. This does not confirm that participants received them together or that they form a single product.
View registry recordThe Zucker Hillside Hospital
Glen Oaks, New York, 11004, United States
Malhotra AK, Burdick KE, Razi K, Bates JA, Sanders M, Kane JM. Ziprasidone-induced cognitive enhancement in schizophrenia: specificity or pseudospecificity? Schizophr Res. 2006 Oct;87(1-3):181-4. doi: 10.1016/j.schres.2006.05.015. Epub 2006 Jul 3.
This is a small sample.
Anil K Malhotra, M.D.
Psychiatry Research The Zucker Hillside Hospital
35 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
September 21, 2005
First Posted
September 23, 2005
Study Start
June 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Atypical Antipsychotic Treatment Effect On Brain Function In Schizophrenia Measured By FMRI
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
October 2008
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2008
Actual (reported)Last Updated
September 10, 2015
Results First Posted
September 10, 2015
Record last verified: 2015-09
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: