Sponsor study identifier
observational
240
1 country
1
Study Start
October 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Study Completion
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
The main objective of the proposed research study is to determine the potential utilization of \[18-F\] Fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG) positron emission tomography (PET) in patients with complicated diabetic foot, especially in the diagnosis or exclusion of osteomyelitis in this setting. We intend to validate and establish the necessary criteria for making such a diagnosis and determine the accuracy of the technique through comparison with other existing modalities, including MRI, and patient outcome. We expect that at the completion of the proposed research, the role of these powerful imaging modalities will be clearly defined in the management of patients with this challenging and serious complication.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
September 13, 2005
Actual (reported)September 19, 2005
Actual (reported)February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
SUV measurement from PET scan
Standardized Uptake Value
Following completion of PET scan
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
240 patients selected for entry into this study will be men or women of any ethnic background diagnosed with diabetic foot disease and/or patients with diabetes and suspected infection(s) below the hip by members of the Diabetes Center of the Department of Medicine, the Division of Vascular Surgery of the Department of Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania Health System (Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania), the Ankle and Foot Medical Centers of Delaware Valley (PENN Presbyterian Hospital, and the Pennsylvania Orthopedic Foot and Ankle Surgeons (Pennsylvania Hospital).
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104, United States
Abass Alavi, MD
University of Pennsylvania
First Submitted
September 13, 2005
First Posted
September 19, 2005
Study Start
October 2002
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
February 2027
EstimatedDiabetic Foot Education
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Study Completion
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Last Updated
March 12, 2026
Record last verified: 2026-03
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: