Sponsor study identifier
observational
530
1 country
1
Study Start
March 2001
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Study Completion
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
The main objective of the proposed research study is to determine the efficacy of \[18-F\] Fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG) positron emission tomography (PET) in differentiating infections from other complications such as loosening in patients with painful joint prosthesis. We intend to validate and establish the necessary criteria for making such a diagnosis and determine the accuracy of the technique through comparison with other existing modalities such as white blood imaging and patient outcome. We expect that at the completion of the proposed research, the role of this novel and powerful imaging modality will be clearly defined in the management of patients with this challenging and serious complication.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
March 2001
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
September 13, 2005
Actual (reported)September 19, 2005
Actual (reported)February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
SUV measurement from PET scan
Standardized Uptake Value
Assessed after FDG scan
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Five hundred patients selected for entry into this study will be men or women of any ethnic background who are scheduled to undergo clinical and diagnostic evaluation for joint prosthesis revision by members of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at the University of Pennsylvania Health System (Hospital of University of Pennsylvania and Pennsylvania Hospital) or by the collaborating physicians at the Rothman Institute at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital or the VA Hospital.
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19104, United States
Abass Alavi, MD
University of Pennsylvania
First Submitted
September 13, 2005
First Posted
September 19, 2005
Study Start
March 2001
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
February 2027
EstimatedContact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Planned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Study Completion
February 2027
EstimatedPlanned date reported by the registry; this milestone is not confirmed as achieved.
Last Updated
March 12, 2026
Record last verified: 2026-03
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: