interventional
N/A
1 country
4
This clinical trial aims to investigate the potential underlying mechanisms of action of zolpidem in three groups of patients with disorders of consciousness (DoC), neurotypical volunteers representing the general population, and patients with partial/total acquired vision impairments as certain proportion of people in all these groups respond paradoxically to zolpidem. Paradoxical responses to zolpidem lead to recovery of consciousness in DoC patients and temporary recovery of vision in patients with vision impairments. Neurotypical volunteers with paradoxical responses also show inability to fall asleep, higher levels of concentration, increased agitation, etc. Therefore, the findings of this study could contribute to a better understanding of the mechanisms of action of zolpidem in paradoxical responders vs. non-paradoxical responders to zolpidem and can lead to improved personalised patient care.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
Not reported
Date not reportedClick on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 14, 2024
Actual (reported)DoC patients: Consciousness level (Coma Recovery Scale-Revised – CRS-R); Neural complexity (high density electroencephalography – hdEEG); Phenomenological experiences (Free recall/interview, if the patient recovers functional communication after IMP/placebo administration)
Neurotypical volunteers: Alertness/sleepiness level (Karolinska Sleepiness Scale – KSS); Cognitive performance (Standardised neuropsychological tests); Neural complexity (high density electroencephalography – hdEEG); Phenomenological experiences (Free recall/interview)
Patients with vision impairments: Alertness/sleepiness level (Karolinska Sleepiness Scale – KSS); Cognitive performance (Standardised neuropsychological tests); Neural complexity (high density electroencephalography – hdEEG); Phenomenological experiences (Free recall/interview); Visual functions (ophthalmological testing by a neuro-ophthalmologist)
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
These entries preserve how the registry describes the intervention. Their treatment roles are shown separately from molecular identities.
Formulated product
MANNITOL
The registry describes a specific formulation. Its exact chemical ingredients and approval status require separate evidence.
CAPSULE
View registry recordThe registry names these ingredients. The formulation’s exact chemical form has not been confirmed.
MANNITOL
Named ingredient: Mannitol
View registry recordCentre Neurologique William Lennox
Ottignies, B-1340, Belgium
Hôpital du Valdor
Liège, 4020, Belgium
Hopital Erasme
Anderlecht, 1070, Belgium
Pr. Vincent Bonhomme
First Submitted
October 14, 2024
Download the complete CTIS (EMA) record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: European Medicines Agency (EMA), Clinical Trials Information System (CTIS). Original record and public documents are available on CTIS.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved:
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
CHU De Liege
Liege, 4000, Belgium