Evaluation of efficacy and safety of 0.1% mometasone furoate cutaneous emulsion compared to its active ingredient-free base and a comparator product
A phase III, multicentre, randomised, observer-blind, intraindividual, paired, comparative trial to evaluate the efficacy and safety of a 0.1% mometasone furoate cutaneous emulsion compared to Ecural® fat cream and vehicle cutaneous emulsion in the treatment of adult participants with plaque psoriasis
1.To demonstrate that topical treatment with the test product (T, IP 1) is non-inferior to the comparator product (C, IP 2) in the treatment of chronic stable plaque-type psoriasis as determined by mean % change in Total Sign Score (TSS, sum score for erythema, induration, and scaling).
2.To demonstrate the superiority of T to the vehicle (V, IP 3) as determined by mean % change in TSS.
Registry Overview
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
Recruitment status
unknown
Reported enrollment (type unavailable)
Not reported
Study completion date
Not reported
Date not reported
Listed locations
1 countries · 8 sites
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Related Scientific Literature
Loading related publications...
Study Timeline
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
Primary efficacy endpoint: % change from baseline in TSS on Day 22. Change from baseline in percent (%) is calculated as: % change=100*((TSS 22 - TSS 1) / TSS 1)
Secondary Outcomes (2)
Secondary efficacy endpoints: % change from baseline in TSS on Day 8.
Secondary efficacy endpoints: Changes from baseline in TSS on Days 8 and 22.
Males and non-pregnant, non-lactating females aged 18 to 65 years.
Subjects with a confirmed clinical diagnosis of stable plaque (or vulgaris) psoriasis. Severity should be mild at screening, defined as having affected BSA ≤10%, a PASI ≤10, and a Dermatology Life Quality Index (DLQI) ≤10
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Subjects must have 2 comparable psoriatic areas for treatment on the extremities or trunk (either symmetrical bilateral, e.g., elbow left and elbow right, or both on one body part if at least 3 cm apart, e.g., upper back and lower back) between 20 and 200 cm2. The larger lesion should not be larger than approximately twice the size of the smaller lesion. Psoriatic lesions on the face and scalp, neck, palms, and soles as well as in intertriginous regions may not be selected as treatment areas.
Subjects with a comparable baseline TSS (sum score for erythema, induration, and scaling) of at least 6 of 9 for each of the selected areas (not more than 2 grades difference in TSS between the 2 target lesions).
Female volunteers of childbearing potential must either be permanently sterile or agree to use a highly effective birth control method (failure rate ˂1% per year when used consistently and correctly) throughout the clinical trial.
Written informed consent obtained.
You may not qualify if:
Pregnant or breastfeeding women.
Systemic therapies for the treatment of psoriasis including but not limited to cyclosporine, retinoids, methotrexate, tacrolimus, azathioprine, salazosulfapyridine, apremilast, and glucocorticoids less than 4 weeks prior to randomisation.
Use of biologic agents for the treatment of psoriasis prior to randomisation as follows: Prohibited medication: Adalimumab, infliximab, brodalumab, ixekizumab, etanercept, guselkumab, certolizumab pegol, golimumab (wash-out period: 3 months); Ustekinumab, alefacept, secukinumab (wash-out period: 6 months); Rituximab (wash-out period: 12 months).
Systemic treatment with any other biological treatments (anti-tumour necrosis factor/interleukin [IL]-12/IL-23 and IL-17 or any other monoclonal antibodies [mAbs]) within the period of 5 half-lives of the biological before first treatment and during the clinical trial.
Systemic treatment with janus kinase (JAK) or tyrosine kinase 2 (TYK2) inhibitors within 3 months prior to randomisation.
Treatment with systemic or locally acting medications which might counter or influence the aim of the clinical trial (medications which are known to provoke or aggravate psoriasis, e.g., antimalarial drugs, lithium) within 8 weeks before first treatment and/or during the clinical trial. Beta-blockers or angiotensin converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors are allowed if on a stable dose for 3 months before clinical trial medication initiation.
Use of another IP or participation in the treatment phase of a clinical trial within the last 4 weeks prior to first dose or 5 half-life periods if known to be longer.
Clinically relevant history or presence of any disease or any chronic medical condition which is not well controlled or surgical history which may interfere with the conduct of the clinical trial in the opinion of the investigator.
Other active skin diseases (e.g., urticaria, atopic dermatitis), skin infections (bacterial, fungal, parasitic, or viral) or skin conditions that might interfere in the opinion of the investigator with treatment and evaluation of psoriasis.
Acute psoriasis guttata, psoriasis punctata as well as erythrodermic, exfoliative and pustular psoriasis.
Findings determined in physical examination and/or vital signs which are considered clinically significant in the opinion of the investigator.
History of an allergic reaction or significant sensitivity to constituents of IPs.
Contraindications according to the SmPC of the comparator Ecural® fat cream. Of particular note, subjects with a hypersensitivity against soy or peanut should not participate in the clinical trial.
Use of topical therapies for the treatment of psoriasis including but not limited to corticosteroids, vitamin D analogues, retinoids during the clinical trial or having discontinued less than 4 weeks prior to randomisation, and (specific to target plaques only) use of urea, salicylic acid, coal tar, and anthralin during the clinical trial or having discontinued less than 2 weeks prior to randomisation.
Phototherapy for the treatment of psoriasis including but not limited to: UV-A, UV-B, sunbaths less than 4 weeks, and psoralen and UV-A (PUVA) less than 8 weeks prior to randomisation.