A Study of INI-822 in Healthy Volunteers and Participants With Metabolic Dysfunction-Associated Steatohepatitis (MASH) or Presumed MASH
A Phase 1 Randomised, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Single and Multiple Ascending Dose Study to Evaluate the Safety, Tolerability, and Pharmacokinetics of INI-822 in Healthy Volunteers and Participants With Metabolic Dysfunction-Associated Steatohepatitis (MASH) or Presumed Metabolic Dysfunction-Associated Steatohepatitis (MASH)
1 other identifier
interventional
168
1 country
11
Brief Summary
This Phase 1 trial will explore the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics (PK) and pharmacodynamics (PD) of single and multiple ascending doses of INI-822 in healthy volunteers in Parts A, B, D and F and in participants with a history of MASH or presumed MASH in Part C and in participants with MASH in E.
Trial Health
Trial Health Score
Automated assessment based on enrollment pace, timeline, and geographic reach
participants targeted
Target at P75+ for phase_1
Started Sep 2023
Typical duration for phase_1
11 active sites
Health score is calculated from publicly available data and should be used for screening purposes only.
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Study Timeline
Key milestones and dates
First Submitted
Initial submission to the registry
June 27, 2023
CompletedFirst Posted
Study publicly available on registry
July 14, 2023
CompletedStudy Start
First participant enrolled
September 8, 2023
CompletedPrimary Completion
Last participant's last visit for primary outcome
September 30, 2026
CompletedStudy Completion
Last participant's last visit for all outcomes
October 31, 2026
ExpectedAugust 3, 2026
July 1, 2026
3.1 years
June 27, 2023
July 30, 2026
Conditions
Keywords
Outcome Measures
Primary Outcomes (12)
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Part A: Up to 5 Weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Part B: Up to 7 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Part A: Up to 5 Weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Part B: Up to 7 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Part E: Up to 12 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Part F: Up to 2 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Part E: Up to 12Weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Part F: Up to 2Weeks
Secondary Outcomes (6)
Plasma area under the curve (AUC) from time 0 to t (AUC0-t)
Part A: Up to 5 Weeks, Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks, Part B: Up to 7 weeks, Part C: Up to 9 weeks, Part E: Up to 12 Week
AUC from time 0 to infinity (AUC0-inf)
Part A: Up to 5 Weeks, Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks, Part B: Up to 7 weeks, Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Maximum concentration (Cmax)
Part A: Up to 5 Weeks, Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks, Part B: Up to 7 weeks, Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Plasma area under the curve (AUC) from time 0 to t (AUC0-t)
Part E: Up to 12 Week, Part F: Week 2
AUC from time 0 to infinity (AUC0-inf)
Part E: Up to 12 Week, Part F: Week 2
- +1 more secondary outcomes
Study Arms (2)
A (INI-822)
EXPERIMENTALParticipants will receive INI-822 orally once daily.
B (Placebo)
PLACEBO COMPARATORParticipants will receive placebo orally once daily.
Interventions
Eligibility Criteria
You may qualify if:
- Females must not be pregnant or lactating, and must use acceptable, highly effective double contraception from Screening until 30 days after their last dose of IP or 5 half-lives, whichever is longer. Females with same-sex partners (abstinent from penile-vaginal intercourse) or who are abstinent from heterosexual intercourse are not required to use contraception when this is their preferred and usual lifestyle. Women of childbearing potential (WOCBP) must have a negative pregnancy test at Screening and Day -1. Women not of childbearing potential must be postmenopausal for ≥ 12 months (postmenopausal status is to be confirmed through testing of follicle stimulating hormone \[FSH\] levels ≥ 40 IU/L at Screening for amenorrhoeic female participants). Females must not donate ova from the first dose of IP until at least 30 days after the last dose of IP.
- Males must be surgically sterile (\> 30 days since vasectomy \[documented evidence\] with no viable sperm), or, if engaged in sexual relations with a WOCBP, they must use a condom and either his partner must be surgically sterile (e.g., tubal occlusion, hysterectomy, bilateral salpingectomy, bilateral oophorectomy), or an acceptable, highly effective contraceptive method must be used from Day -1 until at least 30 days after the last dose of IP. Males with same-sex partners (abstinent from penile-vaginal intercourse) or abstinent from heterosexual intercourse are not required to use contraception when this is their preferred and usual lifestyle. Males must not donate sperm from the first dose of IP until at least 30 days after the last dose of IP.
- Able and willing to attend the necessary visits to the study site.
- Able and willing to provide written informed consent after the nature of the study has been explained and prior to the commencement of any study procedures.
- Normal renal function (estimated glomerular filtration rate \> 60 mL/min using Cockcroft-Gault) at Screening and Day -1 Visits.
- For Parts A and B, D, and F only:
- In good general health, with no significant medical history, and no clinically significant abnormalities on physical examination at Screening and/or before the first administration of IP, at the discretion of the Investigator or designee.
- Body mass index (BMI) ≥ 18.0 and ≤ 30.0 kg/m2 with a maximum body weight of 120 kg.
- to 55 years of age (inclusive at the time of informed consent).
- Able and willing to refrain from use of tobacco and other nicotine-containing products while at the study site and through the study treatment period.
- For Part C only:
- to 65 years of age (inclusive at the time of informed consent).
- \. A diagnosis of MASH confirmed by 1 or more of the following:
- Historical liver biopsy consistent with MASH (presence of Grade 1 steatosis, hepatocellular ballooning, and lobular inflammation) according to the non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (MAFLD) activity score.
- F0-3 fibrosis according to the MASH Clinical Research Network classification within 1 year of Screening.
- +19 more criteria
You may not qualify if:
- An underlying physical or psychological medical condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would make it unlikely for the participant to comply with the protocol or complete the study per protocol.
- Blood donation or significant blood loss (\> 500 mL) within 60 days prior to the first administration of IP.
- Plasma donation within 7 days prior to the first administration of IP.
- Fever (body temperature \> 37.7°C) or symptomatic viral or bacterial infection within 2 weeks prior to Day 1.
- Dysphagia that would limit ability to swallow IP.
- History of severe allergic or anaphylactic reactions, or sensitivity to the IP or its constituents. The excipients in the IP are: Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose Acetate Succinate (HPMCAS), Microcrystalline Cellulose, Micronized Poloxamer 407 (polyoxyethylene oxide), Croscarmellose Sodium, Silicon Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate, and Hydroxypropylmethylcellulose capsules containing Titanium Oxide.
- Abnormalities in physical examination at Screening and Day -1 which are deemed clinically significant by the Investigator or designee.
- Abnormal electrocardiogram (ECG) measurements at Screening (an average of 3 readings) and Day -1 (single reading) that are considered by the Investigator or designee to be clinically significant, including corrected QT interval with Fridericia's correction (QTcF) \> 450 msec (males) or \> 470 msec (females).
- Unstable vital sign(s) or the following values seen at Screening or prior to dosing following 5 minutes of resting in the semi-supine position (an abnormal value may be repeated once, separated by at least 5 minutes, with both values documented). If there is a known medical reason for the abnormality, the timepoint may be repeated on a separate day:
- Systolic blood pressure \< 90 mmHg or \> 160 mmHg OR
- Diastolic blood pressure \< 50 mmHg or \> 95 mmHg OR
- Pulse rate \< 45 beats per minute (bpm) or \> 100 bpm.
- Presence of other clinically significant causes of active liver disease including genetic, autoimmune, viral, and alcoholic liver disease.
- Cirrhosis of the liver as defined by:
- A prior history of decompensated liver disease, including ascites, hepatic encephalopathy, or variceal bleeding OR
- +38 more criteria
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Sponsors & Collaborators
Study Sites (11)
Royal Prince Alfred Hospital
Camperdown, New South Wales, 2050, Australia
Campbelltown Hospital, Level 10, building A, Campbelltown Hospital, Therry Road,
Campbelltown, New South Wales (nsw), 2560, Australia
Genesis Research Services, Ground Floor, 239/245 Denison Street Broadmeadow
Newcastle, New South Wales (nsw), 2292, Australia
Ramsay Health North Shore, North Shore Private, 03 Westbourne Street
Saint Leonards, New South Wales (nsw), 2065, Australia
Princess Alexandra Hospital
Woolloongabba, Queensland, 4102, Australia
University of the Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials (Birtinya), UniSC Clinical Trials Vitality Village, Level 4, Tenancy 410, 5 Discovery Court
Birtinya, Queensland (qld), 4575, Australia
Flinders Medical Centre, Flinders Medical Centre, Flinders
Bedford Park, South Australia (SA), 5042, Australia
Box Hill Hospital, Level 1, 5 Arnold street
Box Hill, Victoria, 3128, Australia
St. Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
Fitzroy, Victoria, 3065, Australia
TrialsWest Pty Ltd, 90 Anstruther Road
Mandurah, Western Australia (WA), 6210, Australia
Westmead Hospital, Storr Liver Centre, Level 2, A/B Block, Westmead Hospital Corner Hawkesbury and Darcy Roads
Westmead, Westmead, 2145, Australia
Central Study Contacts
Study Design
- Study Type
- interventional
- Phase
- phase 1
- Allocation
- RANDOMIZED
- Masking
- QUADRUPLE
- Who Masked
- PARTICIPANT, CARE PROVIDER, INVESTIGATOR, OUTCOMES ASSESSOR
- Purpose
- TREATMENT
- Intervention Model
- PARALLEL
- Sponsor Type
- INDUSTRY
- Responsible Party
- SPONSOR
Study Record Dates
First Submitted
June 27, 2023
First Posted
July 14, 2023
Study Start
September 8, 2023
Primary Completion
September 30, 2026
Study Completion (Estimated)
October 31, 2026
Last Updated
August 3, 2026
Record last verified: 2026-07