A Research Study To Test How Filgrastim Hospira Works In The Body Of Healthy Study Subjects When Given By Subcutaneous Injection (Shot) Compared To An Already U.S.-Approved Drug Neupogen® (Amgen)
A Randomized Open-Label, Single-Dose, Crossover Study Evaluating The Pharmacokinetics And Pharmacodynamics Of Filgrastim Hospira Compared To U.S.-Approved Neupogen® (Amgen) Following Subcutaneous Administration To Healthy Volunteers
This date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
February 2016
Actual (reported)
Study Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)
Brief Summary
This is a study comparing two study drugs, Filgrastim Hospira and Neupogen®. Neupogen® is approved by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to treat low numbers of specific kinds of white blood cells (WBC) known as neutrophils. This type of white cell is important in fighting infections. A low neutrophil count is known as neutropenia. Both drugs work by increasing the number of neutrophils that are produced in the body.
This is important for patients who have low neutrophils due to chemotherapy, other treatments such as bone marrow transplant or certain other conditions with symptoms/problems related to low neutrophil counts. The main aim of the study is to test how Filgrastim Hospira works in the body compared to Neupogen®.
Registry Overview
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
Recruitment status
completed
Actual enrollment (reported)
24 participants
Study completion date
March 2016
Actual (reported)
Listed locations
1 countries · 1 sites
Trial Relationships
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Related Scientific Literature
Loading related publications...
Study Timeline
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
Study Start
December 2015
Date type not reported
This date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Area under the serum filgrastim concentration versus time curve from zero to infinity (AUC0-∞)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, and 48 hours after dose administration
Maximum serum filgrastim concentration (Cmax)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, and 48 hours after dose administration
Area under the effect curve for Absolute Neutrophil Count (ANC) (AUEC ANC)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 24, 48, 72, 96 and 120 hours after dose administration
Maximum observed ANC ( ANC max)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 24, 48, 72, 96 and 120 hours after dose administration
Secondary Outcomes (6)
Time to maximum serum filgrastim concentration (Tmax)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, and 48 hours after dose administration
Elimination half-life (t ½)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, and 48 hours after dose administration
Area under the serum filgrastim concentration versus time curve from time zero to the time of the last measurable concentration versus time curve from time zero to the time of the last measurable concentration (AUC0-t)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, and 48 hours after dose administration
Clearance (CL)
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 16, 24, and 48 hours after dose administration
Time to maximum ANC (Tmax[ANC])
1 hour prior to dose administration and 0.5, 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 24, 48, 72, 96 and 120 hours after dose administration
Study Arms (2)
Filgrastim Hospira (US) followed by U.S.-approved Neupogen®
Provides written informed consent, approved by an Independent Ethics Committee (IEC)/Institutional Review Board (IRB) prior to any study related activities
Healthy male or female volunteers between 18 and 65 years of age (both inclusive)
Yao HM, Ottery FD, Borema T, Harris S, Levy J, May TB, Moosavi S, Zhang J, Summers M. PF-06881893 (Nivestym), a Filgrastim Biosimilar, Versus US-Licensed Filgrastim Reference Product (US-Neupogen(R)): Pharmacokinetics, Pharmacodynamics, Immunogenicity, and Safety of Single or Multiple Subcutaneous Doses in Healthy Volunteers. BioDrugs. 2019 Apr;33(2):207-220. doi: 10.1007/s40259-019-00343-8.
AgranulocytosisCytopeniaHematologic DiseasesHemic and Lymphatic DiseasesLeukocyte Disorders
Study Officials
Pfizer CT.Gov Call Center
Pfizer
STUDY DIRECTOR
Enrollment
24 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
Study Design
Study Type
interventional
Phase
phase 1
Allocation
RANDOMIZED
Masking
NONE
Purpose
BASIC SCIENCE
Intervention Model
CROSSOVER
Sponsor Type
INDUSTRY
Responsible Party
SPONSOR
Study Record Dates
First Submitted
May 6, 2016
First Posted
May 10, 2016
Study Start
December 2015
Date type not reported
This date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
+1 more secondary outcomes
Filgrastim Hospira (US) followed by U.S.-approved Neupogen®
U.S.-approved Neupogen® followed by Filgrastim Hospira (US)
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Body mass index (BMI) between 19 and 30 kg/m2, inclusive, and body weight of not \< 50 kg or \> 100 kg
Non smoker (defined as a subject who has not smoked and has not used nicotine containing products for at least 3 months prior to study drug administration and has a negative urine screen for cotinine) at Screening
Female subjects of childbearing potential, and male subjects and their partners of childbearing potential, agree to pregnancy prevention throughout the duration of the study (through the Final Visit). Subjects and their partners must agree to use of an effective method of contraception, to avoid impregnation of females throughout the course of the study. Subjects using oral contraceptives must be on a stable regimen for at least 3 months prior to Screening. While the best way to avoid pregnancy is to abstain from sexual activity, adequate forms of contraception to be used include oral contraception, depot contraception, intrauterine device (IUD), and barrier contraceptive methods, such as condoms and barrier creams/contraceptive jellies, and spermicidals. Subjects and their partners who can become pregnant must use contraception while on study drug from admission to the Final Visit. Male subjects must also refrain from donating sperm from admission to the Final Visit
Agrees to abstain from alcohol consumption throughout duration of the study and has a negative urine for alcohol at Screening
You may not qualify if:
Any active systemic or immunologic disease or condition, including but not limited to the following general categories: cardiovascular/pulmonary, hepatorenal, or systemic infection, or lactation
Hematologic laboratory abnormalities including leukocytosis (defined as total leukocytes \> 11,000/µL), leukopenia (defined as total leukocytes \< 4000/μL), or neutropenia (defined as absolute neutrophil count \[ANC\] \< 1500/µL) or thrombocytopenia (defined as platelet count of \< 150/µL)
Clinically significant, as judged by the Investigator, vital sign, chest X-ray, or 12-lead ECG abnormality
History of biological growth factor exposure, including but not limited to filgrastim and other G-CSFs in the context of treatment, prophylaxis, peripheral blood stem cell mobilization, or previous investigational study setting
Drug sensitivity, allergic reaction to, or known hypersensitivity/idiosyncratic reaction to Escherichia coli-derived proteins, filgrastim, pegfilgrastim, other granulocyte colony-stimulating factors or any component of the product. Subjects with the rare heredity problem of fructose intolerance are excluded due to the excipient sorbitol
History of splenic rupture (or subject who is asplenic), pulmonary infiltrate or pneumonia, sickle cell disease, chronic neutropenia, thrombocytopenia, or vasculitis
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
February 2016
Actual (reported)
Study Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)
Last Updated
May 10, 2016
Record last verified: 2016-05
Source record
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.