Sponsor study identifier
interventional
16
1 country
1
Study Start
November 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 2016
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
December 2016
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Our objective is to determine the dietary requirement of protein for strength and endurance exercise trained (more than 4 months training experience) individuals between 18 - 30 years of age using the indicator amino acid oxidation (IAO) method. This study will be the first to determine the required quantity of protein need per day in strength- and endurance trained young adults using the IAO method.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 2016
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
November 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
November 26, 2015
Actual (reported)December 3, 2015
Actual (reported)December 2016
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
December 2016
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
measurement of protein requirement as a response of 13C oxidation (µmol . kg-1 . h-1) of 13C-Phenylalanine to varied graded intakes of protein (g/kg/d) in form of amino acid mixture based on egg protein profile
Oxidation of ingested L-\[1-13C\] phenylalanine (µmol . kg-1 . h-1) to 13CO2 (µmol . kg-1 . h-1) in response to graded intakes of protein will be measure and after determination of a plateau in oxidation curve (using change point regression analysis), break point will be defined as g/kg/d protein requirement.
within 8 hours of feeding period
Measuring body composition (percent fat and fat free mass) using air displacement plethysmography (BOD POD)
10 minutes fasted in the morning
Measuring resting energy expenditure (kcal/d) using an open-circuit indirect calorimetry
40 minutes fasted in the morning
Measuring protein requirement of athletes by feeding different amount of protein in the form of amino acid mixture and measuring their oxidation through expired CO2
a repeated measures design will be used on each athlete receiving eight graded intakes of protein on separate days in the form of AA in random order ranging from 0.2 to 3.5 g/(kg/d). Three baseline samples of breath and urine will be collected at 60, 45 and 30 min before the stable isotope is given orally. During a period of 150 to 270 min. after stable isotope ingestion, 5 breath and urine samples (every 30 min) will be collected to determine an isotopic plateau in breath and urine. The rate of release of 13CO2 from the oxidation of L-\[1-13C\] phenylalanine (F 13CO2) in breath will be measured and a breakpoint analysis will determine total protein requirement
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Exercise Nutrition Research Laboratory
London, Ontario, N6A 5B9, Canada
Bandegan A, Courtney-Martin G, Rafii M, Pencharz PB, Lemon PWR. Indicator amino acid oxidation protein requirement estimate in endurance-trained men 24 h postexercise exceeds both the EAR and current athlete guidelines. Am J Physiol Endocrinol Metab. 2019 May 1;316(5):E741-E748. doi: 10.1152/ajpendo.00174.2018. Epub 2019 Feb 19.
Bandegan A, Courtney-Martin G, Rafii M, Pencharz PB, Lemon PW. Indicator Amino Acid-Derived Estimate of Dietary Protein Requirement for Male Bodybuilders on a Nontraining Day Is Several-Fold Greater than the Current Recommended Dietary Allowance. J Nutr. 2017 May;147(5):850-857. doi: 10.3945/jn.116.236331. Epub 2017 Feb 8.
Peter Lemon, PhD
Western University
First Submitted
November 26, 2015
First Posted
December 3, 2015
Study Start
November 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 2016
Estimated (date passed)Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Study Completion
December 2016
Estimated (date passed)This estimate has passed. The registry has not confirmed an actual date for this milestone.
Last Updated
December 3, 2015
Record last verified: 2015-11
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: