Sponsor study identifier
interventional
11,340
1 country
1
Study Start
July 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2016
Actual (reported)This is a randomized study in three areas of Bangladesh (Chars region where CLP operates, Haor region where Shiree operates, and urban slums where UPPR operates). Treatment is assigned at the community level, where treatments are:
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
June 2016
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
July 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
October 28, 2015
Actual (reported)November 5, 2015
Actual (reported)March 2016
Actual (reported)June 2016
Actual (reported)Child anthropometry - height for age
Height for age z scores. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, as well as in changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Child food intake - number unique foods
Number of unique foods consumed in previous 24 hours. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Dietary diversity of index child's mother, father, and of adolescent girl - unique foods
Number of unique foods consumed in previous 24 hours. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Index child mother's nutrition knowledge
Knowledge (total score) of index child's mother regarding questions on breastfeeding, complementary feeding, nutrition, and sanitation practices (29 questions). Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Nutrition knowledge of adolescent girl
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Health of index child <36 months - child ill
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Antenatal care - attendance
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Sanitation practices for index child
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Women's status index
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
No interventions are provided.
Livelihoods programmes offered by UPPR.
Livelihoods programmes offered by UPPR, plus nutrition programmes offered by UPPR.
Capital for purchase of income generating asset, physical infrastructure (plinths, latrines, tubewells), livelihood maintenance stipend, monthly asset maintenance cost stipend, agricultural livelihood training, non-agricultural livelihood training, financial training, health and nutrition training.
International Food Policy Research Institute
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Smith, L. C., U. Ramakrishnan, A. Ndiaye, L. Haddad, and R. Martorell. 2002. "The Asian Engima. Chapter 7 of The Importance of Women's Status for Child Nutrition in Developing Countries. Research Report 131. Washington, DC: International Food Policy Research Institute.
Ramalingaswami, V., U. Jonsson, and J. Rohde. 1996. "Commentary: The Asian Enigma." In The Progress of Nations. New York: UNICEF.
Deaton, A., and J. Dreze. 2009.
Bhutta ZA, Das JK, Rizvi A, Gaffey MF, Walker N, Horton S, Webb P, Lartey A, Black RE; Lancet Nutrition Interventions Review Group, the Maternal and Child Nutrition Study Group. Evidence-based interventions for improvement of maternal and child nutrition: what can be done and at what cost? Lancet. 2013 Aug 3;382(9890):452-477. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(13)60996-4. Epub 2013 Jun 6.
John Hoddinott, DPhil
Cornell University
Shalini Roy, PhD
International Food Policy Research Institute
Naureen Karachiwalla, DPhil
International Food Policy Research Institute
Firdousi Naher, PhD
University of Dhaka
11,340 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
October 28, 2015
First Posted
November 5, 2015
Study Start
July 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Household food security - food groups
Food groups consumed by household in previous seven days. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Infant and young child feeding practices - breastfeeding
Length of breastfeeding of index child. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Receipt of and participation in livelihoods and nutrition interventions (take up)
Whether received livelihoods and nutrition interventions carried out by CLP/Shiree/UPPR programmes. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Community nutrition worker knowledge and activities.
Misconceptions regarding nutrition knowledge and attitudes (regarding breastfeeding, complementary feeding, and sanitation knowledge). Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started.
Up to 24 months.
Child anthropometry - weight for age
Weight for age z scores. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, as well as in changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Child anthropometry - stunting
Percentage of children 0-24 stunted. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, as well as in changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Child anthropometry - wasting
Percentage of children 0-24 wasted. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, as well as in changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Child food intake - number food groups
Number of food groups consumed in previous 24 hours. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Child food intake - food groups
Consumption of specific food groups (animal source foods, dairy, vitamin A rich foods, etc.) in previous 24 hours. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months
Child food intake - caloric consumption
Caloric consumption in previous 24 hours. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Dietary diversity of index child's mother, father, and of adolescent girl
Number of food groups consumed in previous 24 hours. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Household food security - unique foods
Number of unique foods consumed in previous seven days. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Household food security - number of food groups
Number of food groups consumed in previous seven days weighted by nutritional value and frequency of consumption. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Household food security - value of consumption
Value of food consumption in previous seven days. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Household food security - caloric availability
Household caloric availability in previous seven days. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Infant and young child feeding practices - complementary feeding
Age complementary feeding initiated. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, and as changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Community nutrition worker knowledge and activities
Number of home visits and group training sessions in past month. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started.
Up to 24 months.
Child anthropometry - weight for height
Weight for height z scores. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, as well as in changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Women's BMI
Body mass index of index child's mother. Weight for height z scores. Outcomes specified in terms of levels two years after intervention started, as well as in changes (2013-2015).
Baseline. Up to 24 months.
Livelihoods programmes offered by CLP.
Livelihoods programmes offered by CLP, plus nutrition programmes offered by CLP.
Livelihoods programmes offered by Shiree.
Livelihoods programmes offered by Shiree, plus nutrition programmes offered by Shiree.
Counseling on breastfeeding and complementary feeding; five components micronutrients (iron 12.5 mg, folic acid 0.16 mg, zinc 5 mg, vitamin A 0.3 mg, vitamin C 30 mg) for children 7-23 months dosage of 120 sachets per year; 180 iron and folic acid tablets (60 mg iron and 400 mg folic acid) tablets to each pregnant woman after first trimester and up to 180 for each breastfeeding woman per year, as well as 104 tablets to each adolescent girl; deworming treatment for children aged 1-5 years, adolescent girls, pregnant women after first trimester; identification and referral of acute malnutrition; facilitation of government campaigns on nutrition.
Financial training; input support for livelihoods (cropping, livestock, poultry, fishing, bamboo working, small businesses, tailoring etc.); capacity building (mobilising Self Help Groups, facilitating community based organizations (CBOs), skills transfer); innovation support (market linkage and access to value chains); credit and savings groups; support in mobilizing communities to advocate for their needs.
Counseling on breastfeeding, complementary feeding, and sanitation; community discussions including adolescent girls on early and forced marriage; five components micronutrients (iron 12.5 mg, folic acid 0.16 mg, zinc 5 mg, vitamin A 0.3 mg, vitamin C 30 mg) for children aged 7-23 months; 180 iron and folic acid tablets (60 mg iron and 400 mg folic acid) tablets to each pregnant woman after first trimester and up to 180 for each breastfeeding woman per year, as well as 104 tablets to each adolescent girl; deworming treatment for children aged 1-5 years, adolescent girls, pregnant women after first trimester.
Monetary support for communities to improve infrastructure (drains, footpaths, latrines and water dwells, access to roads and markets); financing for apprenticeships; grants for small businesses; education grants for girls; grants for urban food production activities; financial training; establishment of savings and credit groups; support for communities in advocating for their needs; microcredit; improving access to health facilities; improving housing conditions; provision of plinths.
Counseling on breastfeeding, complementary feeding, and sanitation; community discussions including adolescent girls on early and forced marriage; five components micronutrients (iron 12.5 mg, folic acid 0.16 mg, zinc 5 mg, vitamin A 0.3 mg, vitamin C 30 mg) for children aged 7-23 months; 180 iron and folic acid tablets (60 mg iron and 400 mg folic acid) tablets to each pregnant woman after first trimester and up to 180 for each breastfeeding woman per year, as well as 104 tablets to each adolescent girl; deworming treatment for children aged 1-5 years, adolescent girls, pregnant women after first trimester.
No interventions provided.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Hoddinott J, Behrman JR, Maluccio JA, Melgar P, Quisumbing AR, Ramirez-Zea M, Stein AD, Yount KM, Martorell R. Adult consequences of growth failure in early childhood. Am J Clin Nutr. 2013 Nov;98(5):1170-8. doi: 10.3945/ajcn.113.064584. Epub 2013 Sep 4.
Nick Nisbett, PhD
Institute for Development Studies, University of Sussex
Jean Pierre Tranchant, PhD
Institute for Development Studies, University of Sussex
Primary Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2016
Actual (reported)Last Updated
September 15, 2016
Record last verified: 2015-11
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: