Sponsor study identifier
interventional
122
1 country
1
Study Start
June 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 2015
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2015
Actual (reported)Objectives: To determine the association between priming and measurements of hand function such as grip strength Primary null hypothesis: There is no difference in grip strength (best of three attempts) as a percent of the opposite hand between patients that complete the standard Pain Catastrophizing Scale (PCS) compared to patients that complete the positively adjusted PCS. Secondary null hypotheses: There is no difference in grip strength (last of three attempts) as a percent of the opposite hand between patients that complete the standard PCS compared to patients that complete the positively adjusted PCS. There is no difference in grip strength (best of three attempts) before and after completing the questionnaires between patients that complete the standard PCS compared to patients that complete the positively adjusted PCS.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
August 2015
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
June 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
June 15, 2015
Actual (reported)July 9, 2015
Actual (reported)August 2015
Actual (reported)August 2015
Actual (reported)April 13, 2017
Actual (reported)Pain Catastrophizing Scale (PCS)
The pain catastrophizing scale is a 13-item scale to measure catastrophic thinking. The scale is from 0-4 and scores range from 0-52, a lower score indicates less catastrophic thinking about pain.
enrollment
Positive Pain Catastrophizing Scale (PCS)
The positive pain catastrophizing scale (PCS) is a positively-phrased 13-item scale to measure catastrophic thinking. The scale is from 0-4 and scores range from 0-52, a higher score indicates less catastrophic thinking about pain.
enrollment
Difference in Grip Strength Measured With Dynamometer
Difference in Grip strength of the non-affected hand after completing intervention. Each participant completed the grip strength measurement 3 times on the non-affected hand at enrollment (day 1). The results reported represent an increase or decrease in mean grip strength and maximum grip strength after completing the intervention.
Day 1
Difference in Grip Strength Measured With Dynamometer
Difference in Grip strength of the injured hand after completing intervention. Each participant completed the grip strength measurement 3 times on the injured hand at enrollment (day 1). The results reported represent an increase or decrease in mean grip strength and maximum grip strength after completing the intervention.
Day 1
Difference in Grip Strength Measured With Dynamometer
Difference in Grip strength of both hands after completing intervention. Each participant completed the grip strength measurement 3 times with both hands at enrollment (day 1). The results reported represent an increase or decrease in mean grip strength and maximum grip strength after completing the intervention.
Day 1
Grip strength measurements and completes standard PCS
Grip strength measurements and completes positively adjusted PCS
Subject completes the standard version of the PCS Questionnaire
Research Assistant takes Grip Strength Measurements
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, Massachusetts, 02114, United States
David C Ring, MD PhD
Massachusetts General Hospital
122 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
June 15, 2015
First Posted
July 9, 2015
Study Start
June 2015
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Subject completes the positively-adjusted version of the PCS Questionnaire
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
August 2015
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2015
Actual (reported)Last Updated
April 13, 2017
Results First Posted
April 13, 2017
Record last verified: 2017-03
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: