Alcohol Hand Gel Use in Mbale Regional Referral Hospital: a Cost Effectiveness Evaluation
WardGel
Effectiveness Evaluation of Alcohol Hand Gel Use in Mbale Regional Referral Hospital, Rural Eastern Uganda
WardGel
Effectiveness Evaluation of Alcohol Hand Gel Use in Mbale Regional Referral Hospital, Rural Eastern Uganda
Sponsor study identifier
observational
3,626
1 country
1
Study Start
October 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
May 2015
Actual (reported)Study Completion
May 2015
Actual (reported)Ministry of Health through the National Medical Stores has supplied alcohol-based handgels to the different health facilities in Uganda for the health care providers to use during clinical care. However, constant stock-outs and or limited supplies remains the main constraint faced by the hospitals. Thus the handgels are generally used by a few of the senior health care providers. The promotion of bedside, antiseptic handrubs largely contributes to the increase in compliance and sustained improvement of hand hygiene compliance reduces Health care acquired infections (HCAIs), but it is not yet established how cost- effective the intervention is in a a rural Ugandan hospital where funds are severely rationed and, which serves over 4 million people in over 15 districts in Uganda. An evaluation of an intervention's cost-effectiveness is a crucial factor in whether the government will be prepared to fund the intervention and sustain it. This WardGel study thus aims to assess the cost-benefit of providing hand gel for all health care workers in Mbale Regional Referral Hospital.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
May 2015
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
April 20, 2015
Actual (reported)May 2015
Actual (reported)May 2015
Actual (reported)May 6, 2015
Actual (reported)Evidence of Hospital acquired infection confirmed clinically
Hospital acquired infection will be defined as new clinically diagnosed infection developed whilst an inpatient or within 2 days of discharge (for readmitted patients).
At least 48 hours after hospital admission or re-admission.Participants will be followed for the duration of hospital stay, an expected average of 5 days.
Evidence of Hospital Acquired infection confirmed by laboratory investigations (CBC and C&S)
At least 48 hours after admission or readmission.Participants will be followed for the duration of hospital stay, an expected average of 5 days.
Hand hygiene compliance by health care providers based on the WHO's 5-moments of Hand hygiene
during patient clinical care.participants will be observed during their clinical care practice, an expected average of 30 minutes per session
cost-effectiveness of hand gel use by micro-economic assessment
Additional period due to confirmed hospital acquired infection.Participants will be followed for the duration of hospital stay, an expected average of 5 days.
The study population will include in-patients and health care providers on six (6) selected wards (Labour ward, Postnatal ward, Gynaecological ward, Acute Care unit, paediatric Ward, and general surgical wards) The sample will be selected by convenience non-probability sampling method
Mbale Regional Referral hospital
Mbale, Uganda
Saito H, Inoue K, Ditai J, Wanume B, Abeso J, Balyejussa J, Weeks A. Alcohol-based hand rub and incidence of healthcare associated infections in a rural regional referral and teaching hospital in Uganda ('WardGel' study). Antimicrob Resist Infect Control. 2017 Dec 28;6:129. doi: 10.1186/s13756-017-0287-8. eCollection 2017.
Andrew Weeks, PhD
University of Liverpool
James Ditai, MPH
Sanyu Africa Research Institute
Benon Wanume, MMED (CP)
Mbale Regional Referral Hospital
Julian Abeso, MMED (Paed)
Mbale Regional Referral Hospital
3,626 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
April 20, 2015
First Posted
May 6, 2015
Study Start
October 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Kyoko Inoue, MPH
Nagasaki University
Primary Completion
May 2015
Actual (reported)Study Completion
May 2015
Actual (reported)Last Updated
October 13, 2016
Record last verified: 2016-10
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: