Loading search results
Sponsor study identifier
observational
150
1 country
1
Study Start
February 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 31, 2016
Actual (reported)Background: Children presenting with non-traumatic joint pain require different treatment depending on the cause of pain. Septic arthritis, which results from a bacterial infection in the joint, often requires a surgical procedure as well as a long course of antibiotics. In contrast, non-septic arthritis is typically treated by management of symptoms and observation. Current diagnostic standards involve microbiologic examination of fluid taken from the affected joint. This procedure can require the patient to be sedated, and the fluid culture analysis can take up to 72 hours. A single laboratory measure that could be easily obtained and quickly analyzed would aid in faster diagnosis, fewer diagnostic tests and lower cost of the diagnostic work-up for this condition. Recent research on septic arthritis has identified procalcitonin as a potential septic arthritis diagnostic indicator. Procalcitonin (PCT) is secreted by cells in the thyroid at higher levels when the body is facing infection. Procalcitonin levels rise slowly over the first two hours and peak at 24 hours. Levels rise 100-fold in the peripheral blood stream during this time frame. Several studies have indicated PCT is promising potential diagnostic indicator for septic arthritis. Unfortunately, many of these studies have relatively small sample sizes and very few involve pediatric populations. Additional study of PCT and septic arthritis in children will help evaluate the viability of PCT as a diagnostic indicator. Research Question: Can serum procalcitonin assist in clinical differentiation between bacterial (septic) and non-bacterial arthritis? Methods: Patients presenting with possible septic arthritis in the emergency department will be recruited for this study. Patients who consent to participate will receive the current standard for care, including IV placement, laboratory tests for Erythrocyte sedimentation rate (ESR),white blood cell count (WBC), and C-reactive protein (CRP), x-rays and consultation with pediatric orthopedics. Patients participating in the study will have a portion of the serum collected for typical diagnostic tests analyzed for PCT. Research assistants will collect data from medical records of participants, including lab and imaging results. Patients who do not undergo surgery will be contacted by phone within 7 days of their ED visit to confirm diagnosis.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 31, 2016
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
February 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
February 27, 2014
Actual (reported)March 13, 2014
Actual (reported)December 2016
Actual (reported)December 31, 2016
Actual (reported)Septic Arthritis
The primary outcome will be the presence or absence of septic joint. We will confirm the presence of a septic joint by the growth of bacteria in the synovial fluid or presumed septic arthritis if any of the following three criteria are present: a) \> 50,000 white cells in the synovial fluid, b) positive gram stain or c) positive blood culture in the setting of a swollen joint. For patients who do not undergo operative care, we will determine the presence or absence of septic joint by a templated follow-up telephone survey 7 days after enrollment. Patients who do not undergo an operative procedure will be presumed to have non-bacterial causes of their joint pain. Furthermore, culture negative synovial fluid or Lyme positive arthritis will be classified as non-bacterial causes of joint pain.
7 days post ED visit
Emergency department patients.
Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55404, United States
Anupam B Kharbanda, MD, MSc
Children's Minnesota
150 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
February 27, 2014
First Posted
March 13, 2014
Study Start
February 2014
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
December 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 31, 2016
Actual (reported)Last Updated
April 19, 2018
Record last verified: 2018-04
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: