Loading search results
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
NIH
interventional
988
1 country
1
Study Start
August 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
May 23, 2018
Actual (reported)Study Completion
May 23, 2018
Actual (reported)The investigators will test the effectiveness of a youth-led animal husbandry microfinance program, Rabbits for Resilience, combined with the adult microfinance, Pigs for Peace (PFP), program on youth, family and community resilience outcomes. The following aims will be completed over the five-year longitudinal, mixed-method, cluster randomized community trial: Specific Aim 1: Determine the relative effectiveness of a youth-led microfinance combined with the adult microfinance on youth and family resilience outcomes (reduced mental health distress, increased economic stability, improved family functioning) compared to a youth-led microfinance only and adult microfinance only approaches.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
May 23, 2018
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
August 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
October 7, 2013
Actual (reported)December 11, 2013
Actual (reported)May 23, 2018
Actual (reported)May 23, 2018
Actual (reported)Change in baseline Mental health distress at 18 months
The outcome will be collected from multiple sources: 1) one randomly selected program eligible youth; and 2) one parent/caregiver in participating household
Baseline to 18 months post baseline
Youth receive loan
youth and adult receive loan
adults receive loan
Female piglet provided to household member. Participants agrees to repay participants' "loan" by giving two piglets (one to repay the loan and one for the interest on the loan) to the association from the first litter of piglets (on average 6-12 piglets). These piglets are then given to other village member households
One child (10-15 years) receive rabbits loan. The child is mentored by microfinance and community mentors. The child repays the loan to program and other children in the family and community are provided a loan from the repayment.
PAIDEK, Congo
Bukavu, 2375, Republic of the Congo
Glass N, Remy MM, Mayo-Wilson LJ, Kohli A, Sommer M, Turner R, Perrin N. Comparative effectiveness of an economic empowerment program on adolescent economic assets, education and health in a humanitarian setting. BMC Public Health. 2020 Feb 4;20(1):170. doi: 10.1186/s12889-020-8219-6.
Kohli A, Perrin NA, Remy MM, Alfred MB, Arsene KB, Nadine MB, Heri BJ, Clovis MM, Glass N. Adult and adolescent livestock productive asset transfer programmes to improve mental health, economic stability and family and community relationships in rural South Kivu Province, Democratic Republic of Congo: a protocol of a randomised controlled trial. BMJ Open. 2017 Mar 14;7(3):e013612. doi: 10.1136/bmjopen-2016-013612.
Nancy E Glass, PhD
Johns Hopkins University
988 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
October 7, 2013
First Posted
December 11, 2013
Study Start
August 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
One child and adult member of household receive animal loan. The child and adult are mentored and repayment of the loan to the program is provided and the repayment animal is provided to other members of the community
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
May 23, 2018
Actual (reported)Study Completion
May 23, 2018
Actual (reported)Last Updated
August 14, 2019
Record last verified: 2019-08
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: