Provoked, Localized Vulvodynia Treatment With Acupuncture and Lidocaine Pilot Study
Acupuncture Augmentation of Lidocaine for the Treatment of Provoked, Localized vulvodynia-a Feasibility and Acceptability Pilot Study
Acupuncture Augmentation of Lidocaine for the Treatment of Provoked, Localized vulvodynia-a Feasibility and Acceptability Pilot Study
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
19
1 country
1
Study Start
November 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)The investigators research project is a randomized, controlled, single-blinded, feasibility pilot study. The investigators will study the feasibility of a novel treatment for women with Provoked Localized Vulvodynia (PLV) with acupuncture and 5% lidocaine cream. Lidocaine is a numbing agent and common first treatment for this disorder. Acupuncture is a treatment commonly used for other pain disorders. The investigators will compare two types of acupuncture (classical and non-classical) as a treatment for PLV, in addition to 5% lidocaine cream. Researchers want to determine if acupuncture is acceptable and convenient to women with PLV. The investigators hypothesize that classical acupuncture and 5% lidocaine cream will be better than non-classical acupuncture and 5% lidocaine cream to decrease PLV pain.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
March 2016
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
November 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
November 18, 2013
Actual (reported)November 27, 2013
Actual (reported)March 2016
Actual (reported)March 2016
Actual (reported)Tampon Test
Primary outcome variable will be to measure the change in the reported pain of the "Tampon Test" (mean at Week 1) to the reported pain of "Tampon Test" (mean of Week 12); Every week, study participants will be asked to fully insert and remove a tampon and rate the level of pain with insertion on a 10-point Visual Analog Scale (0 indicating no pain, 10 indication worst possible pain).
Weeks 1 and 12 study period
Cotton Swab test
Weeks -4, -3, -2, -1, 0, 1, 12 or 13 and 24.
Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS) Scales
At baseline visit, 6 weeks, 12 weeks, and 24 weeks
Study participants will attend 18 classical acupuncture sessions, twice a week for Weeks 1-6, and once a week for Weeks 7-12. A standardized acupuncture treatment will be assigned with classical acupuncture points and may or may not be stimulated with electroacupuncture. Very thin needles (0.18mm) will be inserted into locations either on the front or the back of the body and may be placed near or far from the affected area based on up to three Traditional Chinese Medicine Diagnosis categories. Study participants will also be asked to gently apply 5% lidocaine cream four times daily (breakfast, lunch, dinner, and before bed).
Study participants will attend 18 non-classical acupuncture sessions, twice a week for Weeks 1-6, and once a week for Weeks 7-12. A standardized acupuncture treatment will be assigned with non-classical acupuncture points and may or may not be stimulated with electroacupuncture. Very thin needles (0.18mm) will be inserted into locations either on the front or the back of the body and may be placed near or far from the affected area. Study participants will also be asked to gently apply 5% lidocaine cream four times daily (breakfast, lunch, dinner, and before bed).
Very thin needles (0.18mm) will be inserted into locations either on the front or the back of the body and may be placed near or far from the affected area. No needles will be inserted into the genital region. Locations needled will be in classical acupuncture points. On even-numbered visits, the needles may be electrically stimulated via an electro-acupuncture machine. Needles will be retained for 30 minutes per study visit. Acupuncture needles used are 0.18x30-40mm, manufactured by Dong Bae Corporation (DBC), Korea. The electrical acupuncture device is Pantheon Research Electrical Stimulator 8c, United States.
Women's Health Research Unit; Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, Oregon, 97239, United States
Hullender Rubin LE, Mist SD, Schnyer RN, Chao MT, Leclair CM. Acupuncture Augmentation of Lidocaine for Provoked, Localized Vulvodynia: A Feasibility and Acceptability Study. J Low Genit Tract Dis. 2019 Oct;23(4):279-286. doi: 10.1097/LGT.0000000000000489.
Lee E Hullender Rubin, DAOM
Oregon College of Oriental Medicine
19 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
November 18, 2013
First Posted
November 27, 2013
Study Start
November 2013
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Evaluation of the Depth and Duration of Anesthesia From Heated Lidocaine/Tetracaine (Synera®) Patches Compared With 5% Lidocaine (Lidoderm®) Patches Applied to Healthy Adult Volunteers
Satisfaction
Weeks 12 and 24
Expectation
Week 1
Feasibility
Weeks 12 and 24
Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) Diagnosis Category
Week 1
24-hour mean pain score
Baseline, Weeks 6, 12, and 24
Frequency of intercourse
Baseline, Weeks 6, 12, and 24
Very thin needles (0.18mm) will be inserted into locations either on the front or the back of the body and may be placed near or far from the affected area. No needles will be inserted into the genital region. Locations needled will be in non-classical acupuncture points. On even-numbered visits, the needles may be electrically stimulated via an electro-acupuncture machine. Needles will be retained for 30 minutes per study visit. Acupuncture needles used are DBC Brand, Korea, 0.18x30-40mm. The electrical acupuncture device is Pantheon Research Electrical Stimulator 8c, United States.
Study participants will gently apply 5% lidocaine cream four times daily to vulvar area.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)Study Completion
March 2016
Actual (reported)Last Updated
October 6, 2017
Record last verified: 2017-10
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: