Duration of Sciatic Nerve Block After Injection of Local Anesthetic In or Around the Nerve
Duration of Subgluteal Sciatic Nerve Block After Intra- or Perineural Injection of Mepivacaine: a Randomized, Controlled Trial
Duration of Subgluteal Sciatic Nerve Block After Intra- or Perineural Injection of Mepivacaine: a Randomized, Controlled Trial
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
120
1 country
1
Study Start
October 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
July 2013
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2013
Actual (reported)This study was designed to assess whether the injection of local anesthetic into the nerve (intraneural), as opposed to around it (perineural), leads to longer anesthesia and analgesia of the leg. Some reports of accidental intraneural injection mention an extremely long duration. When different drugs and doses were evaluated in a clinical trial of intraneural injection, a longer-than-expected duration was reported. The investigators will compare the two types of injection using the same drug, so as to determine if there is an actual difference in duration.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
October 2013
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
October 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
July 2013
Actual (reported)October 2013
Actual (reported)November 4, 2013
Actual (reported)November 11, 2013
Actual (reported)Differences in Time to Resolution of Sciatic Nerve Block
The time at which sensory and motor function of the sciatic nerve have recovered at least to the following criteria: * Sensory: patients feel discomfort when pricked with a thin needle (25G) * Motor: patients may move both toes and ankle, albeit with reduced strength This outcome measure will be examined by an investigator every 30-60 min and reported by patients as "time to return of sensation and movement". The investigator-reported value will be preferred if both are available.
<12 h
Block Onset Time
≤30 min
Success Rate of Anesthetic Nerve Blocks
≤30 min
Incidence and Prevalence of Neurologic Disturbances
30 days
Extra- vs. Intraneural Minimum Electrical Stimulation Thresholds
(during the procedure)
Patients in this group will receive a perineural injection of mepivacaine for subgluteal sciatic nerve block, in addition to a femoral nerve block and patient-controlled postoperative analgesia.
Patients in this group will receive an intraneural injection of mepivacaine for subgluteal sciatic nerve block, in addition to a femoral nerve block and patient-controlled postoperative analgesia.
The injection will start as the needle penetrates the outermost discernible layer of the nerve (epineurium) under ultrasound guidance. The injection will be adjudicated as "intraneural" if nerve cross section expansion and a reduction in echogenicity are observed. Short-axis real-time ultrasound imaging will be used, with an in-plane needle approach.
Anesthesia, Critical Care and Pain Medicine - University of Parma
Parma, PR, 43126, Italy
Benhamou D, Blonski E, Levy P, Plessis E, Chalhoub V. Ultra-long duration of a peripheral nerve block: a possible consequence of intraneural (subepineural) local anaesthetic injection. Ann Fr Anesth Reanim. 2010 Jul-Aug;29(7-8):589-91. doi: 10.1016/j.annfar.2010.05.032. Epub 2010 Jul 13.
Nader A, Kendall MC, De Oliveira GS Jr, Puri L, Tureanu L, Brodskaia A, Asher Y, Parimi V, McCarthy RJ. A dose-ranging study of 0.5% bupivacaine or ropivacaine on the success and duration of the ultrasound-guided, nerve-stimulator-assisted sciatic nerve block: a double-blind, randomized clinical trial. Reg Anesth Pain Med. 2013 Nov-Dec;38(6):492-502. doi: 10.1097/AAP.0b013e3182a4bddf.
Marco Baciarello, MD
University of Parma
120 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
November 4, 2013
First Posted
November 11, 2013
Study Start
October 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Analgesic Efficacy of Saphenous Nerve Block in Total Knee Replacement
The injection will start as the needle indents the outermost discernible layer of the nerve (epineurium) under ultrasound guidance. The injection will be adjudicated as "intraneural" if the drug infiltrates the space between the epimysium of the surrounding muscles and the outer epineurium of the sciatic nerve. Short-axis real-time ultrasound imaging will be used, with an in-plane needle approach.
Patients will receive an ultrasound-guided femoral nerve block using a short- or long-acting local anesthetic, as deemed indicated.
Patients will receive a patient-controlled intravenous or perineural catheter-based analgesia, depending on their preference and the anesthesiologist's indication.
Thirty milliliters of 1.5% (wt/vol) mepivacaine will be used for the sciatic nerve block.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
July 2013
Actual (reported)Study Completion
October 2013
Actual (reported)Last Updated
November 19, 2013
Record last verified: 2013-11
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: