Sponsor study identifier
observational
190
1 country
1
Study Start
July 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
Not reported
Date not reportedStudy Completion
Not reported
Date not reportedOn April 2, 2012 the manufacturer of the Quicksite® and Quickflex® leads, St. Jude Medical, released a voluntary medical device advisory regarding these leads' potential for problems with the silicone insulation covering one end of the lead, where it meets another section of the lead which is coated with a different insulating material (polyurethane). There has been a voluntary suspension of sales of these leads. There are approximately 179,000 of the above leads implanted worldwide with an estimated 101,000 leads currently in service (59,000 in US). There have been 39 confirmed cases of the conductor portion of the lead becoming exposed from the silicone insulation (externalization), and the rate of occurrence of this type of problem is conservatively estimated at less than one percent. However, a review done by St. Jude Medical of returned Quicksite® and Quickflex® leads and available X-ray and fluoroscopic (x-ray movie) images of patients with these leads (from 1,219 patients) revealed a higher rate of 3-4%. It is presumed that there are patients whose leads have not yet been affected by this problem, but whose leads may show signs of structural changes on x-ray or fluoroscopy. This study seeks to determine what structural changes may be occurring in these leads, what signs might predict these changes, and what impact these changes may have on the lead and its performance.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
Not reported
Date not reportedClick on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
July 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
July 5, 2012
Actual (reported)July 10, 2012
Actual (reported)Evaluate the mechanical/structural abnormalities in implanted St Jude Medical QuickSite® and QuickFlex® left ventricular (LV) pacing leads
Patients who have received the leads affected by the medical product advisory
St. Jude Medical produced lead called Quicksite
St. Jude Medical produced lead called Quickflex
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Patients that received either Quicksite or Quickflex leads at the University of Kansas Hospital
University of Kansas Medical Center
Kansas City, Kansas, 66160, United States
Dhanunjaya Lakkireddy, MD
University of Kansas Medical Center
First Submitted
July 5, 2012
First Posted
July 10, 2012
Study Start
July 2012
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Last Updated
August 9, 2013
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Record last verified: 2013-08
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: