Acupuncture and Chiropractic Care for Chronic Pain in an Integrated Health Plan
Relief
Relief
Sponsor study identifier
observational
1,242
1 country
1
Study Start
December 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 2015
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2016
Actual (reported)Recent research examines many types of complementary and alternative (CAM) therapies. However, "real-world" use of CAM has been largely overlooked. This project consists of four discrete sets of project activities (that largely follow one another chronologically). Phase1 uses information from the EMR (patient electronic medical records) to identify unique clusters of patients with CMP (chronic musculoskeletal pain), their care within the health plan, and to examine how those in unique clusters may have different uses for A/C (acupuncture and chiropractic) services and/or differential outcomes associated with such care. Phase 2 will conduct a survey of CMP patients from KPNW (Kaiser Permanente Northwest region) to establish a broad sample of patients and their use of out-of-plan CAM services. Phase 3 will collect qualitative data (focus groups and individual interviews) from KP members, KP providers, and acupuncturists and chiropractors from the community to examine KP providers' decision to recommend A/C services, A/C services delivered to KP patients, and patients' decisions to pursue and retain CAM care. A secondary purpose is to have KP members with CMP review planned assessment instruments to improve understandability of the instruments. They will provide feedback on: relevancy, any notable omissions of domains important in patients' decision to use CAM services for pain treatment. They will also provide insight to broader health and quality of life outcomes associated with such CAM treatments. Phase 4 is a prospective cohort study to evaluate health services/costs and broader clinical and functional outcomes associated with the receipt of A/C relative to carefully matched comparison participants receiving traditional CMP services.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
August 2016
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
December 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
April 28, 2011
Actual (reported)May 2, 2011
Actual (reported)August 2015
Actual (reported)August 2016
Actual (reported)Pain severity & interference
Two subscales -- the 4-item pain severity and the 7-item pain interference subscales -- from the short form of the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI-SF) will be used to assess pain and related disability.
Baseline, 1-, 3-, 6-months
Patients with chronic musculoskeletal pain (CMP)
Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research
Portland, Oregon, 97227, United States
Penney LS, Ritenbaugh C, DeBar LL, Elder C, Deyo RA. Provider and patient perspectives on opioids and alternative treatments for managing chronic pain: a qualitative study. BMC Fam Pract. 2017 Mar 24;17(1):164. doi: 10.1186/s12875-016-0566-0.
DeBar LL, Elder C, Ritenbaugh C, Aickin M, Deyo R, Meenan R, Dickerson J, Webster JA, Jo Yarborough B. Acupuncture and chiropractic care for chronic pain in an integrated health plan: a mixed methods study. BMC Complement Altern Med. 2011 Nov 25;11:118. doi: 10.1186/1472-6882-11-118.
Lynn DeBar, PhD
Kaiser Permanente
1,242 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
April 28, 2011
First Posted
May 2, 2011
Study Start
December 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
August 2015
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2016
Actual (reported)Last Updated
December 23, 2016
Record last verified: 2016-12
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: