Effect of Body-mass Index (BMI) on Median Effective Dose of Intrathecal Hyperbaric Bupivacaine
The Effect of BMI on Median Effective Dose (ED50) of Intrathecal Hyperbaric Bupivacaine for Total Knee Replacement Arthroplasty
The Effect of BMI on Median Effective Dose (ED50) of Intrathecal Hyperbaric Bupivacaine for Total Knee Replacement Arthroplasty
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
108
1 country
1
Study Start
January 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 2010
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 2010
Actual (reported)The effect of Body-mass index (BMI) on requirements of local anesthetics used in spinal anesthesia has not been well established. The investigators tried to quantify the effect of BMI on spinal anesthesia by comparing the median effective dose of intrathecal bupivacaine between two different BMI groups.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 2010
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
January 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
December 2010
Actual (reported)December 2010
Actual (reported)February 7, 2011
Actual (reported)February 8, 2011
Actual (reported)success of spinal anesthesia
a bilateral T12 sensory level to pinprick within 10 min of the intrathecal drug administration with no additional epidural anesthetics required during the surgery
every ten minutes during the surgery
time to first request for supplemental analgesia
every ten minutes during and after surgery
intrathecal bupivacaine 6 mg for BMI less than 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 7 mg for BMI less than 27.5 kg/m2
Seoul Medical Center
Seoul, 135-740, South Korea
Won Ho Kim, M.D.
Seoul Medical Center
108 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
February 7, 2011
First Posted
February 8, 2011
Study Start
January 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
intrathecal bupivacaine 10 mg for BMI over 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 11 mg for BMI over 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 8 mg for BMI less than 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 9 mg for BMI less than 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 10 mg for BMI less than 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 11 mg for BMI less than 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 6 mg for BMI over 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 7 mg for BMI over 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 8 mg for BMI over 27.5 kg/m2
intrathecal bupivacaine 9 mg for BMI over 27.5 kg/m2
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
December 2010
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 2010
Actual (reported)Last Updated
August 3, 2011
Record last verified: 2011-01
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: