Sponsor study identifier
interventional
68
1 country
1
Study Start
January 2011
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
August 2013
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2013
Actual (reported)The purpose of this study is to determine whether infrapatellar branch of the saphenous nerve blocks are effective in decreasing analgesic use, promoting earlier mobility, and improving long term outcome scores after knee arthroscopy.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
August 2013
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
January 2011
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
January 17, 2011
Actual (reported)January 19, 2011
Actual (reported)August 2013
Actual (reported)August 2013
Actual (reported)May 12, 2014
Actual (reported)Post op Pain Score
immediate postop pain score, Visual Analog Scale. Evaluates pain on scale from 0-10. 0=no pain. 10=maximum pain.
0 hours
A sham infrapatellar block performed under US guidance with normal saline
An infrapatellar nerve block performed under US guidance with 0.25% bupivacaine
10cc, single dose, US guided injection
10cc, single dose, US guided injection
Olson Surgical Pavilion
Chicago, Illinois, 60611, United States
Akkaya T, Ersan O, Ozkan D, Sahiner Y, Akin M, Gumus H, Ates Y. Saphenous nerve block is an effective regional technique for post-menisectomy pain. Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc. 2008 Sep;16(9):855-8. doi: 10.1007/s00167-008-0572-4. Epub 2008 Jun 24.
Lundblad M, Kapral S, Marhofer P, Lonnqvist PA. Ultrasound-guided infrapatellar nerve block in human volunteers: description of a novel technique. Br J Anaesth. 2006 Nov;97(5):710-4. doi: 10.1093/bja/ael241. Epub 2006 Sep 26.
outpatient nature and self reporting of outcome measures
Gordon Nuber, MD
Northwestern University
Antoun Nader, MD
Northwestern University
Lawrence Hsu, MD
Northwestern University
Mark Kendall, MD
Northwestern University
68 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
January 17, 2011
First Posted
January 19, 2011
Study Start
January 2011
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Arthornthurasook A, Gaew-Im K. Study of the infrapatellar nerve. Am J Sports Med. 1988 Jan-Feb;16(1):57-9. doi: 10.1177/036354658801600110.
Primary Completion
August 2013
Actual (reported)Study Completion
August 2013
Actual (reported)Last Updated
May 12, 2014
Results First Posted
May 12, 2014
Record last verified: 2014-01
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: