Sponsor study identifier
interventional
20
1 country
1
Study Start
April 2004
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 31, 2008
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 31, 2008
Actual (reported)The goal of this protocol is to determine the vitamin A value (equivalence) of spirulina. The investigation will use intrinsically deuterium labeled spirulina and an isotope vitamin A reference dose, 13C10- retinyl acetate (13C10 RAc), in males (n=20). Up to 45 blood samples (10 ml/sample) will be collected from each subject over a two-month period to evaluate the bioavailability and bioconversion of spirulina ß-carotene to vitamin A.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 31, 2008
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
April 2004
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
May 16, 2008
Actual (reported)May 20, 2008
Actual (reported)December 31, 2008
Actual (reported)December 31, 2008
Actual (reported)The enrichment of spirulina ß-carotene and its cleavage product vitamin A were tracked after taken the oral dose of intrinsically labeled spirulina.
51 days
an acute dose of spirulina up to 5 g
vitamin A value of spirulina ß-carotene
USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging, Tufts Uni.
Boston, Massachusetts, 02111, United States
Guangwen Tang, Ph.D.
USDA Human Nutrition Research Center on Aging, Tufts University
First Submitted
May 16, 2008
First Posted
May 20, 2008
Study Start
April 2004
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
December 31, 2008
Actual (reported)Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Study Completion
December 31, 2008
Actual (reported)Last Updated
October 12, 2017
Record last verified: 2017-10
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: