Sponsor study identifier
interventional
70
1 country
1
Study Start
May 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
Not reported
Date not reportedStudy Completion
December 2007
Actual (reported)Background Leber's Hereditary Optic Neuropathy (LHON) is a maternally inherited ocular disorder associated with a mutation in mtDNA . The common manifestation is visual loss which caused by the respiratory chain enzymes complex dysfunction resulting in increased oxidative stress enzymes production. Purpose To determine whether curcumin which is an antioxidant agent is beneficial to the patients with 11778 LHON mutation. Material and Method Seventy patients with 11778 LHON mutation were randomly treated with oral curcumin (500 mg/day) and placebo for 1 year. The visual acuity, computerized visual field, electrophysiologic parameters and oxidative stress enzymes in plasma were compared before and after treatment at 3, 6, and 12 months interval.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 2007
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
May 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
September 11, 2007
Actual (reported)September 12, 2007
Actual (reported)December 2007
Actual (reported)visual outcome
1 year
1. curcumin 2. placebo
curcumin 250 mg twice a day in the first group. placebo 1 capsule twice a day in the second group.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Professor Wanicha Chuenkongkaew
Bangkok, Bangkok, 10700, Thailand
Professor Wanicha L Chuenkongkaew, MD
Mahidol University
First Submitted
September 11, 2007
First Posted
September 12, 2007
Study Start
May 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Study Completion
December 2007
Actual (reported)Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Last Updated
December 24, 2012
Record last verified: 2004-08
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: