Sponsor study identifier
interventional
17
1 country
1
Study Start
January 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
June 2005
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2005
Actual (reported)As exenatide slows the rate at which materials leave the stomach, it is likely to alter the rate of intestinal absorption of oral drugs when administered within a certain timeframe relative to exenatide. In addition, the residence time within the stomach of other medication may be prolonged and data from this study will help assess the change in residence time in the presence of therapeutic doses of exenatide. This study will also evaluate the relationship between blood levels of exenatide and parameters measuring rate of stomach emptying.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
June 2005
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
January 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
June 2005
Actual (reported)June 2005
Actual (reported)August 14, 2007
Actual (reported)August 16, 2007
Actual (reported)To detect the mean difference in half gastric emptying time for a solid meal between any treatment and placebo
A dose of exenatide or placebo is given before the morning meal. After eating the test meal, images will be recorded at approximately 5 minute intervals from ingestion of the test meal until 3 hours after the meal, then every 10 minutes until 6 hours after the meal. In cases where significant radioactivity is observed at 6 hours after the meal, additional scintigraphic images may be taken periodically at the discretion of the investigator, until counts approach low values for up to 12 hours after the meal.
up to 12 hours post meal consumption
Exenatide 5 mcg - Exentatide 10 mcg - Placebo
Exenatide 10 mcg - Placebo - Exenatide 5 mcg
Placebo - Exenatide 5 mcg - Exenatide 10 mcg
Period 1 = Subcutaneous injections of exenatide 5mcg twice daily for 4 days and once in the morning of the 5th day. Period 2 = Subcutaneous injections of exenatide 5mcg twice daily for 2 days, followed by 2 days of twice daily 10 mcg doses, 10mcg once in the morning of the 5th day. Period 3 = Subcutaneous injections of placebo in an amount equivalent to exenatide twice daily for 4 days and once in the morning of the 5th day. A washout of at least 2.5 days will occur between each treatment period.
Research Site
Nottingham, United Kingdom
James Malone, MD
Eli Lilly and Company
17 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
August 14, 2007
First Posted
August 16, 2007
Study Start
January 2005
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Period 1 = Subcutaneous injections of exenatide 5mcg twice daily for 2 days, followed by 2 days of twice daily 10 mcg doses, 10mcg once in the morning of the 5th day. Period 2 = Subcutaneous injections of placebo in an amount equivalent to exenatide twice daily for 4 days and once in the morning of the 5th day. Period 3 = Subcutaneous injections of exenatide 5mcg twice daily for 4 days and once in the morning of the 5th day. A washout of at least 2.5 days will occur between each treatment period.
Period 1 = Subcutaneous injections of placebo in an amount equivalent to exenatide twice daily for 4 days and once in the morning of the 5th day. Period 2 = Subcutaneous injections of exenatide 5mcg twice daily for 4 days and once in the morning of the 5th day. Period 3 = Subcutaneous injections of exenatide 5mcg twice daily for 2 days, followed by 2 days of twice daily 10 mcg doses, 10mcg once in the morning of the 5th day. A washout of at least 2.5 days will occur between each treatment period.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
June 2005
Actual (reported)Study Completion
June 2005
Actual (reported)Last Updated
February 23, 2015
Record last verified: 2015-01
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: