Study Stopped
The DSMC decided it appeared futile to attempt to demonstrate non-inferiority of povidone-iodine to Natamycin.
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
78
0 countries
N/A
Study Start
March 2008
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
September 2010
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 2010
Actual (reported)The purpose of this study is to determine the effectiveness of 1.25% povidone-iodine ophthalmic solution for the treatment of small to medium sized fungal corneal ulcers compared with an antifungal antibiotic.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
December 2010
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
August 14, 2007
Actual (reported)August 15, 2007
Actual (reported)March 2008
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
September 2010
Actual (reported)December 2010
Actual (reported)Number of days until disappearance of hypopyon and criteria for recovery and cure are met and subject is discharged home. Number of treatment failures. Ocular complications from the infection and ocular and systemic complications from the treatment.
Inferior outcome is defined as cure time under povidone-iodine treatment, which is at least 4 days longer than cure time under natamycin, or time until criteria for improvement to hospital discharge is reached.
povidone-iodine 1.25% ophthalmic solution. The associated intervention descriptions contain sufficient information to describe the arm.
natamycin ophthalmic suspension, USP 5%. The associated intervention descriptions contain sufficient information to describe the arm.
Sherwin J. Isenberg, M.D.
Lundquist Institute for Biomedical Innovation at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
78 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
August 14, 2007
First Posted
August 15, 2007
Study Start
March 2008
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
September 2010
Actual (reported)Study Completion
December 2010
Actual (reported)Last Updated
December 4, 2014
Record last verified: 2014-12
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: