Loading search results
Validation of Cardiac MR Perfusion With Cardiac Catheterization Physiological Assessment
Sponsor study identifier
Secondary identifiers
observational
34
1 country
1
Study Start
December 29, 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
Not reported
Date not reportedStudy Completion
July 19, 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
This study will test the accuracy of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) in measuring cardiac perfusion (blood flow). MRI of the heart can measure blood flow to heart muscle, but collateral coronary arteries (vessels that supply blood to the heart muscle) may reduce the accuracy of the measurements. This study will perform special measurements of coronary artery flow and pressure in patients undergoing heart catheterization and catheter-based treatment (angioplasty and stenting) in order to compare for accuracy with cardiac MRI. Patients 21 years of age and older with coronary artery blockage may be eligible for this study. All participants undergo cardiac MRI, to produce images of the heart, as well as special invasive blood flow testing during heart catheterization, angioplasty, and stenting. During MRI, the subject lies on a table that can slide in and out of the scanner (a narrow cylinder), wearing earplugs to muffle loud knocking and thumping sounds that occur during the scanning process. The procedure lasts about 45 to 90 minutes. Since the heart moves during breathing, subjects are asked to hold their breath intermittently for about 5-20 seconds. A medicine called dipyridamole is injected through a vein in the subject's arm to increase blood flow to the coronary arteries and help detect blockages. Pictures are taken of the heart before, during, and after the dipyridamole injection. Another medicine called gadolinium is also given through a vein. This medicine brightens the images to measure blood flow. During a separate catheterization, angioplasty, and stenting procedure, subjects undergo additional invasive tests. The additional tests use a special guidewire to measure coronary artery pressure and blood flow, as well as a special ultrasound to look inside the artery. Patients have a repeat MRI about 2 months after the catheterization.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
July 19, 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Click on a node to explore related trials.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
December 29, 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
December 30, 2006
Actual (reported)January 4, 2007
Actual (reported)July 19, 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
National Institutes of Health Clinical Center, 9000 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, Maryland, 20892, United States
Muehling OM, Jerosch-Herold M, Panse P, Zenovich A, Wilson BV, Wilson RF, Wilke N. Regional heterogeneity of myocardial perfusion in healthy human myocardium: assessment with magnetic resonance perfusion imaging. J Cardiovasc Magn Reson. 2004;6(2):499-507. doi: 10.1081/jcmr-120030570.
Jerosch-Herold M, Swingen C, Seethamraju RT. Myocardial blood flow quantification with MRI by model-independent deconvolution. Med Phys. 2002 May;29(5):886-97. doi: 10.1118/1.1473135.
34 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
December 30, 2006
First Posted
January 4, 2007
Study Start
December 29, 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Muhling OM, Dickson ME, Zenovich A, Huang Y, Wilson BV, Wilson RF, Anand IS, Seethamraju RT, Jerosch-Herold M, Wilke NM. Quantitative magnetic resonance first-pass perfusion analysis: inter- and intraobserver agreement. J Cardiovasc Magn Reson. 2001;3(3):247-56. doi: 10.1081/jcmr-100107473.
Study Completion
July 19, 2010
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Last Updated
July 2, 2017
Record last verified: 2010-07-19
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: