Effect of Samarium on the Relief of Pain Due to Vertebral Metastases
Phase I/II Study of the Use of Vertebral Intracavitary Cement and Samarium (VICS) for Painful Vertebral Metastases
Sponsor study identifier
interventional
29
1 country
1
Study Start
May 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
Primary Completion
January 2014
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2016
Actual (reported)Cancer cells may spread from the primary site to the vertebrae resulting in their deformity. The standard treatment for this case is removal of the cancer deposits in the vertebra and filling the induced cavity with a cement like substance. The investigators are studying the effects (good or bad) of adding samarium (a radioactive substance) to the cement that is injected into the induced cavity.
Registry-reported information. Elapsed time and enrollment totals alone do not measure study progress or recruitment pace.
January 2016
Actual (reported)Click on a node to explore related trials.
Some registry-reported names shown below are not yet linked in this graph.
Dates and qualifiers reported by the registry. Estimated dates do not confirm that a milestone has occurred.
May 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
September 8, 2006
Actual (reported)September 11, 2006
Actual (reported)January 2014
Actual (reported)January 2016
Actual (reported)To determine the effect of intravertebral injection of Samarium on the relief of pain
Measuring the pain by the Visual Analogue Scale
6 months
Injection of Samarium (153SM)
The Samarium is introduced into the vertebral cavity using a 2-way valve by the radiation oncologist. The cement is then introduced via the same 2-way valve into the vertebral cavity by the neurosurgeon.
Registry-reported names are shown in full. Names without a link have not yet been matched to a Syfrah profile.
New York Methodist Hospital
Brooklyn, New York, 11215, United States
Hani Ashamalla, MD, FCCP
New York Presbyterian Brooklyn Methodist Hospital
29 participants (actual enrollment reported by the registry).
First Submitted
September 8, 2006
First Posted
September 11, 2006
Study Start
May 2006
Date type not reportedThis date has not been verified as actual or estimated.
An Extension Study for Patients Previously Treated With ARQ 501
Contact the study team to confirm eligibility.
Primary Completion
January 2014
Actual (reported)Study Completion
January 2016
Actual (reported)Last Updated
August 26, 2019
Record last verified: 2019-08
Download the complete ClinicalTrials.gov record imported by Syfrah, including fields not shown in this page. The registry may contain a newer revision.
Source: ClinicalTrials.gov.
JSON downloads include source attribution and retrieval details alongside the unchanged original record or the separately normalized values.
Source retrieved: